On who I’d stalk. I mean meet.

19 12 2011

Who would you most like to meet and why?Dana

What? You mean besides the Doctor? (To marry and run away with, if you were wondering.)

This is a hard question for me because there are so many people who are awesome. If I’m not limited to who’s alive right now I might say Jesus or Mary Magdalene, or Hatshepsut, or Lady Jane Grey.

But if I’m talking about people I have a physical chance of meeting, I think I’ll go with The Bloggess. The day I found her writing was the day I suddenly felt more sane. Because I relate to the way she thinks, to her sense of humor, because she writes about her trials with such beauty it helps me find my place in this world. Because she harasses Nathan Fillion, upsets William Shatner, and gives out pictures of Wil Wheaton collating paper. Because she wears confidence wigs and THAT IS THE BEST IDEA EVER.

Only I’m fairly socially awkward and I’m afraid of small talk in general, and probably if we met I’d just be starstruck and tongue-tied, and so I’d be all, “Well. Uh. Hey. So. Nice wig.” Although I am assured she is actually really easy to talk to, I’m certain I’d be a Black Hole of Conversation and Awkwardness, sucking all the ease out of the room. (Thank god I’m so cute?)

Still – and I mean this in the least stalkerish way possible – I do think we’ll meet someday in some form. Maybe I can talk her into sending me her red dress.

And I have the weirdest feeling that I wrote a post very similar to this recently somewhere. I remember searching for those same links in her blog, and then saying something about how Texas is too far away to stalk her (which makes two stalking references and that’s probably scary for her). But I can’t find that post ANYWHERE. So maybe I dreamed it. Which makes the stalking references either less or more scary. Whichever.

Actions

Information

10 responses

19 12 2011
bethany actually

This is one of those places our brains diverge. I have nothing against the Bloggess, and I’m sure she’s a lovely person, but I don’t read her. I’ve read probably a half-dozen of what I assume are her most popular posts after being sent there by many people who assured me she’s hilarious, and I just don’t get it. I’ve never had the desire to go back and read more. I understand intellectually why others find her funny, but I guess it’s not my brand of humor.

19 12 2011
ZebraBelly

Well, the reason I find her so funny is not only because I like that type of humor, but also because (and maybe primarily because) the way she writes matches the way I think. The patterns in my head are often convoluted and maybe somewhat dark or ironic and definitely bizarre and out there. The first time I read her, I was just amazed to find someone who I *matched* so well, that I was hooked. She helps me feel more normal (not that I ever felt ABnormal about it) and I just *relate* so well that I can’t help but love her blog.

BUT, she and I definitely do not share a brain the way you and I do. The stuff she comes up with could definitely never come from my brain even though I relate to it so well. Isn’t that funny? Excuse me while I trip out now.

19 12 2011
Sonja

Social awkwardness is the language of the 21st century, I’m pretty sure. At least with people who matter.

This post reminded me: We visited a Lutheran church the other day, and in their adult Sunday school/Bible study, they asked who you’d like to have over for dinner (living or dead). Everyone said something deep or to-be-expected, except for D and myself: D said Billy Crystal and I said The Doctor. Bless the Lutherans, they still liked us after that.

19 12 2011
ZebraBelly

That is a sign of a good church, for sure.

19 12 2011
Sarah

If you’d like to invite me to a dinner party, I’d do what I could to bring David Tennant with me. I make no promises about not “accidentally” seducing him and marrying him on the flight over though.

‘kay?

19 12 2011
ZebraBelly

So when can you come? And I hope you don’t mind if I accidentally seduce him when you guys get here. It will be a very confusing week for poor, sexy, David Tennant.

19 12 2011
Sonja

Invite me to this dinner party. I won’t be too seductive. Probably.

19 12 2011
AmyK

Yummy, yummy, David Tennant. Did you see the 17 December 2011 album on http://www.facebook.com/davidtennantcom, cuz it was fully, fully swoon worthy. And having read your post about The Doctor, I have to say that Matt Smith has his charms.

Also, there’s nothing wrong with being socially awkward.

19 12 2011
ZebraBelly

Oh that Doctor Who post is outdated. I’m all caught up now and really, really do love Matt Smith, too. Possibly just as much as David Tennant, although in different ways. And thanks for the link to the eye candy. 😉

21 12 2011
Claire

Another plus for our impending nuptials — Lady Jane Grey. Didn’t know you had that one too.

Leave a Reply

