In which Madeleine L’Engle doesn’t help me write this post at all.

11 12 2011

In what ways are you like your mother? And if you’re a mother, how is/are your kid(s) like you?Jessica

My mother was funny and charming and creative. And she had hazel green eyes. I think I inherited those qualities. Except the eyes, which are more a “body part” and less a “quality.” Although I did inherit them. Which actually makes me a little bit like Harry Potter in that I look like my dad except for my eyes. I’m not so good at flying on broomsticks, though. Only now I’ve forgotten what I was saying.

Oh right.

She also loved me fiercely, respected me deeply, and followed a lot of what we now call attachment parenting – all things I try to replicate in my parenting. I’ve said before I think her love and respect are what saved my sanity and kept me strong enough to grow through and beyond all the shit. I hope to give the same for my kids, along with a more solid foundation so they can grow even beyonder. Which is what we want for our children no matter what, right? Beyonder. Autocorrect keeps trying to change that to “be yonder” which is pretty deep, actually, and makes me wonder if Madeleine L’Engle is helping to write this post. She always did rethink words like that. Except I think she started with real words, not made up ones. Whatever.

Although I bet if Madeleine L’Engle was helping to write this post, it would have been a lot less disjointed. And also maybe had a proper ending. Thanks a lot, Madeleine L’Engle.

Actions

Information

4 responses

11 12 2011
Claire

Way to Be Yonder

11 12 2011
Jess banks

Thank you so much for sharing your memories of your mom. I’m so sorry for your loss; going forward without my mom is literally unthinkable to me, even though our relationship really changed this year. Maybe, when it’s hard not to have her here, you can imagine that she’s “be yonder” too. *hugs*

13 12 2011
micaela

Just so you know, after reading a few posts here, I felt compelled to play Chopin’s Prelude in E Minor in your honor. So I did. Three times in a row because it just felt and sounded so good.

I love your blog.

13 12 2011
ZebraBelly

I think that’s the awesomest compliment I’ve ever received! Thank you! ❤

Leave a Reply

