Warnings Unheard (Because I don’t have a time machine. Which is probably for the best, honestly. I’d probably step on a butterfly.)

1 12 2011

I woke up yesterday morning to find I’d been added to a new Facebook group called Reverb Broads focused on blogging each day of December, based on a prompt. I don’t know if I’ll have it in me to finish or to actually hit every single day, but I like the idea of a prompt to get me started, a group to keep me going, and the joy I’ll find in getting back to blogging more regularly.

Today’s prompt courtesy of Kristen: If the you of today could go back in time and give advice to any of the previous yous, which age would you visit and what would you tell them?

In the words of Neil, the hippie on The Young Ones, “Heavy.” Excuse me. That was only one word.

I’ve done a lot of introspection on this blog lately, and I’ve had a long day which involved an overly dramatic instance of poor customer service, an email blaming me for all sorts of stuff that wasn’t my fault, and not enough chocolate to fix all that. So I promise myself I will come back to this topic for therapy, but today I’m keeping it light. And, because I can’t follow rules, I’m not picking one age.

Dear Me,
An outfit entirely made of denim really isn’t as cool as you think it is.

Stop trying to make your bangs look like your forehead is giving the world a high-five. It’s not hot.

NKOTB? No. Just. NO.

Learn to laugh at yourself.

Enjoy fiesta sticks while you can. They don’t exist outside middle and high school cafeterias.

FYI, 10,000 Maniacs is not a scary heavy metal band you’ll go to Hell for listening to. You’ll like them. Trust me.

Get involved in drama productions in school ASAP. You’ll regret not doing it sooner.

Grunge is awesome. Kudos.

Buy a pair of 20-hole Docs while you are still young enough to wear them.

It’s not so important to have a boyfriend that you have to date that guy. Srsly.

Ditch school once in awhile. You don’t have to go crazy and do bad stuff, but let loose while you are young.

You are cute. You are funny. Don’t ever forget it.

Love,
Me

Actions

Information

4 responses

1 12 2011
Summer Hellewell

“It’s not so important to have a boyfriend that you have to date that guy. Srsly.” This is advice I still give myself.

In fact, much of this I would echo. I guess that’s why we’re fristers.

2 12 2011
Emily

Outfit made entirely of denim, the image this created in my head made me smile.

2 12 2011
Mandy Rausch

An outfit made entirely out of denim is called, I believe, a “Canadian tuxedo.” 😉

2 12 2011
Claire

Totally not to old for those docs. Srsly.

Leave a Reply

