7 Days: Day 3 (Pink)

20 06 2011

7 Days: Day 3 (Pink)

I had this idea when I got this case, just after the December run ended. And then I totally forgot back in March. And now my case seems to be utterly unshineable in that there are fingerprints that ABSOLUTELY REFUSE to be cleaned off. WTF? So forgive the sad unshinyness, pls. Kthx.

And now let’s obsess over Doctor Who. Those uninterested are excused at this time.

1. Last night I watched the movie. That was a terrible idea. For one thing it began with the statement, “Time Lords only have 13 lives” and since I’m not so bad at math that I can’t tell that leaves only two Doctors left until I am rendered entirely Doctorless, I commenced a panic attack all over Twitter and Facebook. Because it’s one thing (one utterly horrible thing) to know I’ll soon have to say goodbye to the 10th Doctor and another thing entirely to know that this show to which I have, essentially, married myself to for better or worse for the rest of my life might not spend the rest of my life with me. (Which, honestly draws a lot of parallels to the show itself. Go ahead. Get deep.) So: Panic, panic, panic. And then after that (Spoilers ahead if you call them spoilers when the movie sucks balls) The Master turned into a puddle all Alex Mack style and possessed Eric Roberts (you know. how you do) and then there were chickens for some reason and the Doctor’s mother was human for some reason and the TARDIS was a veritable CITY with Indiana Jones style temples n shit inside it and the acting was terrible and the writing was terribler. And while I normally celebrate terrible movies, I, apparently, take The Doctor too seriously and was just offended. Pity, b/c this one had so much potential for the Bad Movie Club I’m forming. But instead I’m just traumatized.

2. Threadless, those assholes (said lovingly), send me emails. When I am smart I don’t open them. But today I wasn’t smart. And they showed me this. With shipping this comes to almost $30. I know I should not afford this, especially since I already chose a treat for myself this month, but that doesn’t stop me from seriously considering it. So I ask you my dear readers, do I buy this shirt or not? I ask you because if you FORCE me to, then I can blame you and not be irresponsible at all. See? I’m smrt like that.

Actions

Information

16 responses

20 06 2011
clearheart

Well, clearly you NEEDED the bluebird of happiness and if the Tardis shirt came in a color other than that baby blue, then you might NEED that as well, but I am thinking maybe you could wait and see if something else is needed MORE? Like, something really useful like a giant trampoline for the back yard? Or a fuck cow? Of course, this exposes me as the anti dr. who-er that I am. So maybe you should get advice from someone who as the same value system as you. That’s good advice right there.

20 06 2011
ZebraBelly

I’d disown you right here and now if you hadn’t just included the words “fuck cow” in your comment.

And, in all seriousness the only reason I’m fretting this much over the shirt is based on how fast the Doctor Hoo shirt went. If I knew it would always be there for me to, say, buy on sale, it wouldn’t be an issue at all. Stupid trendy obsessions.

20 06 2011
Sonja

As much as I love the Doctor (and you know I do), I say you don’t need that shirt. I really like the idea of the nerdy pillows you had in your apartment-Bonniefied post, so I say if you’re going to spend $30, spend them on a pillow from etsy.
I hope you still love me anyway.

21 06 2011
ZebraBelly

Oh I totally still love you. I only threatened to disown Claire because she declared her self “anti” Doctor and that’s pretty severe. Also because Margie won’t allow me to disown her anymore when she embarrasses me (“Mom, Robert Smith is kind of creepy.”) so I’ve got to take it out on SOMEONE.

And, yes. You are right anyway. I need to work on that pillow collection, don’t I? Thanks for reminding me of my priorities.

And for the record, I’m so serious about this that I totally chose to NOT buy the Driveshaft shirt on TeeFury today. (Driveshaft being, if you don’t already know, a band in Lost. I think most of those who commented here aren’t Lost people. Or even lost people.)

21 06 2011
Sonja

Wow, disowning is like a serious thing for you, yes?! ๐Ÿ˜‰
I’m glad I’m not disowned, and I’m glad you cleared up the Driveshaft thing. Because I am perhaps a little lost at times, but I am not a Lost person.

20 06 2011
bethany actually

I agree with Sonja. I think the TARDamask idea is much better suited to a pillow than a shirt, actually.

21 06 2011
Chris Radcliff

The good news: Time lords were limited to 13 lives by the Time Council (or whatever), which no longer exists because the Doctor made them all go to their rooms for fighting. And they died. The End. Thus, said limit no longer applies to him.

The bad news: The REDACTED you find out about in REDACTED is going to make you REDACTED your REDACTED REDACTED anyway, so it’s small comfort. So so sorry.

Yours nerdily,
A Nerd

21 06 2011
ZebraBelly

I half love you for this comment and half kind of want to ban you from this blog. But just a little bit. No more making me panic, Chris. That’s the rule.

Can you at least give me a vague timeline for when I’m going to have to REDACTED my REDACTED REDACTED?

22 06 2011
Chris Radcliff

It’s an adventure show, so you can count on REDACTING your REDACTED REDACTED at least once per series. (Seriously. Are you into the Donna series yet? Because they’re brilliant, and that’s not even considering the REDACTED.) As such, though, you can also count on REDACTED getting out of the REDACTED in time to face the next REDACTED, and on and on as long as there’s still an audience for it.

22 06 2011
Chris Radcliff

All that said, I’m in mid-cliffhanger from the current series, and there’s a whole list of REDACTED that I can’t even. What the. And who. With the. Huh?

So you might want to hold off on the second Matt Smith series if you don’t want mortal-peril-of-the-whole-show type suspense hanging over your head. Just sayin’.

22 06 2011
ZebraBelly

WordPress says I’m no longer allowed to reply to you, Chris. Instead I have to reply to myself. But I’m sure I’ll pass on the message. Well, I’m not that reliable, actually. Just be nosy and read this.

ANYWAY. Yes, I’m in the middle of the Donna season. We’re watching Silence in the Library & its buddy tomorrow night. (Which: *Squee!*) And I’m hoping to be all caught up by the time new episodes that are not this series begin. I’m assuming Christmas?

22 06 2011
bethany actually

Chris! I want to know what all the REDACTEDs are! I’ve seen every episode, I just can’t piece it together from your comment. Too vague. (Well, except for the cliffhanger from the current series. I obviously know what you’re talking about there.)

23 06 2011
Chris Radcliff

Intentionally vague, yes. Anything even remotely specific would spoil years worth of episodes for someone who hasn’t seen Silence in the Library yet. ๐Ÿ™‚

25 06 2011
Sarah

Maybe I’m the only one, but I’m just replacing “redacted” with “fuck cow”.

25 06 2011
ZebraBelly

Oh, Sarah. I knew there was a reason I loved you. Consider yourself OWNED and officially adopted.

26 12 2011
7 Days: Day 6 (That *is* a Doctor in my pocket, but I’m still happy to see you.) « Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] how I shoved Eight back in the back there? I still haven’t forgiven him for that heart attack where I leaned without warning about the 13 lives […]

Leave a Reply

