My First Vlog

29 01 2011

All the cool kids are doing it!

Word list:
Aunt, Route, Wash, Oil, Theater, Iron, Salmon, Caramel, Fire, Water, Sure, Data, Ruin, Crayon, Toilet, New Orleans, Pecan, Both, Again, Probably, Spitting image, Alabama, Lawyer, Coupon, Mayonnaise, Syrup, Pajamas, Caught

Questions:
What is it called when you throw toilet paper on a house?
What is the bug that when you touch it, it curls into a ball?
What is the bubbly carbonated drink called?
What do you call gym shoes?
What do you say to address a group of people?
What do you call the kind of spider that has an oval-shaped body and extremely long legs?
What do you call your grandparents?
What do you call the wheeled contraption in which you carry groceries at the supermarket?
What do you call it when rain falls while the sun is shining?
What is the thing you change the TV channel with?

Notes:
1. As it turns out, the mayonnaise story wasn’t really that funny. Sorry about that.
2. When I say “Sprite” what I really mean is “Shasta” – my grandparents never bought name brand sodas. That would be frivolous. This is a good example of why I don’t vlog often; I can’t hit the backspace key and edit it.
3. I’m really frankly disappointed wash wasn’t on the list. That’s a big one, in my opinion, since certain regions (which ones I cannot tell you) add a random “R” in there for fun.
4. When I’m using the front view camera, I get distracted by myself and forget to look at the actual camera. I did my best to try to look at “you” here. You’re welcome.
5. The app is here.

Your turn! Leave me a link in the comments if you play along, mkay?

Actions

Information

20 responses

29 01 2011
Kirsten

ummmm..check out the third word on the list

29 01 2011
ZebraBelly

HAHAHA! OK. Does it excuse me if I confess that I’m coming down with a head cold? Yes? Oh good.

Thank God I’m so cute.

29 01 2011
Sarah

According to John and the dictionary it’s pronounced “meem”.
Also, I hope someone’s going to tell us what the hell this “raining while the sun shines” word is that apparently exists somewhere in America.

29 01 2011
ZebraBelly

When I watched Caitlin’s (Healthy Tipping Point) she called it a sunshower. Which is lovely. But I stand by “weird”. Of course “weird” is what we here in So Cal use to describe anything falling from the sky.

29 01 2011
Annika

You are adorable.

29 01 2011
chasingthefirefly

I wondered if I was going to hear a “bolth” from anyone. Lots of my friends said it that way too. I made a video too πŸ™‚

http://chasingthefirefly.wordpress.com/2011/01/29/january-29-2011-accent-vlog/

29 01 2011
bethany actually

I think I actually grew up saying it ‘bolth’ but I changed it when I got old enough to realize it wasn’t spelled that way.

My dad says ‘warsh’ and ‘Warshington’ even though he grew up in the same city I did, and I say ‘wash’ and ‘Washington.’ He also says ‘I’m gonna take and…’ eat a sandwich, go the store, whatever. He uses a few other distinctive turns of phrase that are unique to the part of South Omaha he grew up in. πŸ™‚

30 01 2011
Fun With Accents | Cosmic Blue

[…] hopefully there you have it. While waiting for my vimeo upload to finish I did also get to watch Bonnie’s video and I believe I spotted one more in my Twitter feed that I need to go and watch. This has […]

30 01 2011
Lauren

That ‘raining while the sun shines’ thing also occurs in Australia. I too call it a sunshower.

http://bluecosmic.wordpress.com/2011/01/30/fun-with-accents/

30 01 2011
Summer

1) I, too, changed my pronunciation of both from “bolth” to both. It’s because I am now an overpronouncer.
2) That coke things is pretty common. We studied it in linguistics!
3) When it rains when the sun is shining, the devil is beating his wife. Duh.
4) I sort of want to do this, and also am not sure I want to videotape myself nor am I sure where I would post it, since my blog is not this kind of blog. But I suppose I could call it linguistics and therefore sort of content related? Or just do it on flickr?

30 01 2011
ZebraBelly

Either of those options would do. And you could always do a “guest post” here if you want, I guess. Heh.

I didn’t want to video myself, either, but following the trend was far too strong a pull. If you guys all jump off a cliff someday I’m gonna be in trouble.

30 01 2011
bethany actually

Summer, I am totally an overpronouncer too! Now I have a word for my affliction, thank you.

30 01 2011
Corey

I call it a sun shower when it rains when the sun is shining. Here in CO we even have sun flurries once in awhile when it snows while the sun is shining.

You’re supercute, Bonnie.

30 01 2011
Kuky

That was fun. And have I ever commented before? I quietly read sometimes. πŸ™‚ Oh wait. I usually read quietly. I do not read aloud. Eh, you know what I’m trying to say. I ummmm cannot think of the word today.

And awesome app.

30 01 2011
Kuky

I lurk. There you go, that’s the word I was looking for.

30 01 2011
ZebraBelly

Heh. I think I’ve seen you comment here at some point? Either way, welcome! And thanks! πŸ˜€

31 01 2011
Corey

Also, FTR, you do not have a southern accent even when saying Alabama. I just don’t hear it. Brush up on your Minnie Pearl and then try again. πŸ˜‰

31 01 2011
ZebraBelly

No way, dude. It’s there. I can FEEL it when I say “Alabama” although I admit that when I watched the video it was much harder to hear than I expected it to be. But I really do fall into it easily. I just won’t videotape it and post it online.

31 01 2011
31 01 2011

Leave a Reply

