Lavender Cookies

26 01 2011

i nommed it

One of the best parts of my swap package was a recipe for lavender cookies complete with lavender buds. I’ve had them stuck to the fridge for weeks now, drooling every time I walked past.  I considered saving them for my birthday next week, but I finally couldn’t stand the suspense any longer and I made them last night.

I don’t typically cook at night. I don’t know why. I think it began when Margie was a baby and refused to be put down or to stay asleep if so much as a pin dropped within several miles. And then it just became a part of how I do things. But knowing Bethany who often (unless maybe she’s all drugged up on nursing hormones) bakes the night away has made me realize that just because my kids are asleep doesn’t mean I have to be glued to the couch – particularly now that Margie sleeps like a normal kid.

And so I baked cookies last night. And it was a good idea.

lavender cookehs

Corey’s recipe called for almonds, but I had some pecans left over from holiday baking so I used those instead. I also subbed out the butter for palm shortening because I am low on Earth Balance and also because Claire informed me that palm shortening is a totally better choice anyway. I subbed out the wheat flour for my basic gluten-free mix and I think the white sugar (or, you know, organic evaporated cane juice) probably helped stabilize the dough to make them as perfect as wheat ones would be. And then, for the last few cookies, I added chocolate chips and you know what? Eh. The lavender itself is incredible – believe it or not the chocolate actually takes away from the perfectness. Such a rare event is bound to be evidence for how awesome these cookies are. So you should make some.

and then i added chocolate chips

The problem is that now I want lavender in everything. Brownies? YES! Coconut bark? YES! My friend makes a kickass lavender lemonade, and another friend gave me lavender chocolates for Christmas. I am pretty sure this year is going to be all about lavender.

And now, Corey’s recipe – thanks again, Corey, for letting me share this!

1/2 C butter
2 eggs
1 C sugar
1 1/2 C flour
1 tsp baking powder
2/3 C almonds
1 Tbs lavender buds
pinch salt

Stir lavender and sugar together. Combine remaining ingredients. Cut in butter. Beat eggs and combine until a dough is formed. Drop on a greased cookie sheet and bake at 350 for 12-14 minutes. Makes 3-5 dozen.

Actions

Information

8 responses

26 01 2011
Summer

Nom

27 01 2011
Sarah

How cool. I first tasted lavender on a jam sponge last year at a friend’s wedding. I thought it might taste like a mouthful of perfume, so I was very pleasantly surprised. Though if chocolate doesn’t improve it, clearly there’s some sort of witchcraft going on here.

27 01 2011
Katie

So, I have definitely decided that lavender has actual magical powers in terms of helping me sleep soundly through the night after a soak in Fresh N Easy’s Bergamont and Laveder bath soak, slathering on some lavendar hand cream and a spray of lavender linen spray (which I made myself!) … so eating it? Probably just another vehicle to help the lavender calm and soothe me! But I agree with Sarah: chocolate not improving it? Voodoo, I tell you. Voodoo.

27 01 2011
ZebraBelly

Well chocolate and lavender does make a good combo in general- but these cookies defy the laws of physics. They are good with chocolate but they are to die for without. And now I shall go eat MOAR COOKEHS.

27 01 2011
Corey

Awesomeness!

I made lavender meatballs (beef) and they were pure heaven.

27 01 2011
Jen

I’ve only had lavender on my pork chops. I had no idea there were so many other uses for it.

But I may have an issue. I’ve been wearing lavender scented lotion for years. So, now if I taste lavender flavored things I might think they taste like lotion. That would be weird. Eh. I’m willing to try them anyway. They look delicious.

27 01 2011
ZebraBelly

I have a lotion that smells like chocolate but I have not yet taken a bit of myself. Yet. There is a distinct possibility I may lose control on some desperate day. But I bet I will be disappointed.

28 01 2011
bethany actually

Lavender as a flavor…? I dunno. I don’t think I could make a whole batch of these before trying them somewhere first. 😉

I love that stripey mug!

Leave a Reply

