Grown-Up Peanut Butter Cups

28 12 2010

grown up peanut butter cups

Or plain peanut butter cups. Or sunbutter cups. Whatever floats your boat. The point is that these are delicious and very simple to make, and pretty good for dealing with food allergies since you can substitute the two ingredients very easily. I’m sure you could use carob instead of chocolate, but I haven’t looked for meltable carob before so maybe not.

This batch is spicy. Earlier this year, I tried some fantastic peanut butters you can find at Tropical Traditions. (Apparently they no longer have the hickory smoked flavor? REVOLT!) When I was heading out to Katie’s party last week, I thought of bringing some cups and then, since I was going to a rare kid-free party, I figured why not make a fancier peanut butter cup? Of course, being last minute, I had to make due with whatever flavored peanut butter I could find which happened to be SUPER SPICY (but I didn’t know how spicy until I brought it home). While I normally use dark chocolate (because: Yum! Dark chocolate!), this time I used milk chocolate chips, hoping the dairy would help balance out the spicy.

Here’s the method.

Create a double boiler. Or use an actual double boiler if you have one. But don’t buy one, they just take up room, and this one is fantastic, anyway. Place a Pyrex glass bowl on top of a sauce pan of boiling water. Put about 2/3 of the total chocolate in and let it melt, stirring occasionally.

ghetto double boiler

melting chocolate

Once that chocolate is melted, take the bowl off the heat and mix in the rest of the unmelted chocolate. This tempers the chocolate and keeps it from blooming because of the temperature changes.

tempering it with more chocolate

Place a dollop of chocolate in each paper-lined mini-muffin-sized cup. This will take some practice to know how much is the right amount, but one of the beautiful things about homemade cups, is that they vary and some of them offer sweet surprises of extra chocolate (and vice versa). Then you need to spread the chocolate around the paper. I’ve tried a variety of methods and by far, fingers are the best. Just lick them clean first. HAHA, just kidding! (Probably!) You will want to try to spread it up the sides of the cup as best you can. This is the most awkward and messy part and I discovered this time that it makes a major difference if your paper cups fit your muffin tin very well. These cups happened to be somewhat smaller for some reason and they just didn’t want to stay in place for me. Do your best, it doesn’t have to be perfect – this is a very forgiving process.

chocolate bottoms

Toss this in the fridge for 20ish minutes to allow it to harden before placing a spoonful of peanut butter in each cup.

peanut butter drops

Then, simply top with more chocolate and use a spoon to gently swirl it so that the peanut butter is completely covered. Place in the fridge for a bit longer and then you’re done!

If you choose to make these spicy, one thing I learned is that you should probably warn people before they bite into them. Or not. Whatever floats your boat.

One more image of the completed cups? I think so, yes.

grown up peanut butter cups

If you try these, or some variation, let me know how it goes, ok?

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

