Happy Birthday, Harry!

1 08 2010

thirty years old!

We decided to schedule this month’s Knitting in Menifee event to fall on Harry Potter’s birthday. Because we are fantastically geeky. This year happens to be Harry’s 30th, of course, and Maggie just happened to have some decorations left over from her own 30th last year so she hung them around the house.

pumpkin pasties

butter beer?

I made pumpkin pasties and brought ginger butter beer. Maggie shared some chocolate chip cookies she’d made. Summer brought gluten-free cauldron cakes (I never expect people to bring gluten free treats, but when they do, they win my heart forever!) which have several stories of their own, and which were incredibly delicious.

cauldron cakes

Maggie not only decorated the house, but she also dressed in Hufflepuff colors. I didn’t even think to wear my Muggle shirt, or my time-turner!

nina

Nina the kitty came out and joined us and looked at us like we were crazy (as cats are wont to do). We had a really great day, knitting (and showing off our knits), eating (at the Beer Hunter! lolz), and laughing (mostly about Maggie’s pants or lack thereof).

I’m not really sure how to end this entry eloquently, so I’ll just show you some cookies, yeah? Excellent.

chocolate chip cookies on a party plate

Happy birthday, Harry!

Actions

Information

3 responses

1 08 2010
bethany actually

You used the word “wont.” I ❤ you! Aside from the whole, y'know, having a birthday party for a fictional character, which also makes me ❤ you. 🙂

1 08 2010
ZebraBelly

Oh good, I’m so glad I used it correctly! heh.

5 08 2010
Sarah

Cookies are an excellent distraction technique. Well, it worked on me anyway.

Leave a Reply

