I Made This!

13 06 2010

best gluten-free cupcakes ever

I have never, ever, made cake or cupcakes from scratch. Ever. This week I decided to give it a go to share some with a friend for her birthday. I perused the Gluten-Free Goddess’ website to find something that stood out to me and I just happened to have all the ingredients for this summery treat. They came out lovely – a bit firmer than your usual gluteny cake, but they didn’t sink into a dense brownie-like dessert like so many GF recipes I’ve tried. I had a hard time with the frosting, though, and it sort of separated into something that tasted lovelier than it looked.

I happily sent the extra cupcakes home with my friend, but I could not stop thinking about them. As it so happened, I had a hot date the day after to go knit in Menifee with Maggie & Summer, one of whom just celebrated a birthday herself. I decided that if my CSA box that night came with oranges in it, I’d go ahead and whip up another batch. And guess what? The Universe clearly wanted me to make more cupcakes! This time the frosting came out picture perfect as well, and since I had some extra orange zest, I tossed it on top all fancy-like.

best gluten free cupcakes ever

The cupcakes seemed well-loved by gluten folks as well as my own family (except my son who doesn’t do cake, period). The flavor was light and cakey, the frosting was perfect. The recipe overall was really easy.

maggie

summer

(I took a photo of the first cupcakes being enjoyed as well, but I wasn’t happy with the photo so didn’t upload it to Flickr.)

The Gluten Free Goddess has a recipe for peach cake which has me praying that The Universe will see fit to send me lots of good peaches in my next CSA box.

Actions

Information

6 responses

13 06 2010
bethany actually

Wait, wait wait…you will make homemade pickles, but you made it THREE DECADES before you made cake from scratch!?? That does not compute.

Although as I typed that, I was thinking of Brenda, and how she’s really quite a good cook but she doesn’t like to bake because it requires more precise following of recipes, and she tends to get numbers mixed up between the cookbook and the measuring cup. So maybe you are like that? Or you just have a great love for box-mix cakes? I am truly curious. Maybe I’m just lucky to have grown up with a mom who was equal-opportunity when it came to box mixes and from-scratch recipes, and who gave me free rein in the kitchen from the time I was 10.

13 06 2010
bethany actually

Oh! And I forgot to add, the cupcakes look beautiful! It’s awesome that that tasted good too. I might have to try making them sometime. If nothing else it’d be nice to have a go-to gluten-free recipe in my repertoire for my GF friends. 🙂

13 06 2010
ZebraBelly

LOL

I was just afraid. I felt like cakes were a more temperamental thing than, say, muffins or brownies. I never wanted to risk it for a birthday, and fail, and then I don’t like to just have sugar around so I never baked a cake that wasn’t NEEDED. And cake isn’t my favorite dessert (brownies are!) so it was probably partly because I wasn’t as interested.

Now that I think of it, I could have gotten a GF cake mix. But it totally did not occur to me until now so. I guess it’s for the best!

14 06 2010
Sarah

I love it when the universe comes down on the side of cake.

14 06 2010
Karina

Yay for cupcakes! I’m so glad you liked these. They’re my son’s favorite (he asked for them last birthday). Cheers! Karina

14 06 2010
Jess

you go, girl!

Leave a Reply

