Pizza Scones

5 05 2010

pizza scones

Years ago my AP board was all aflutter with this scone recipe one of our members shared and it’s been one of my favorites ever since. The woman who shared it with me happens to have celiac kids so these days I’m using the gluten-free version, but back in my wheaty days I’d just use whatever flour I had around – whole wheat, unbleached and sprouted spelt all gave excellent results. I’ve made them cinnamon apple, strawberry, blueberry, pumpkin spice and chocolate chip. This month’s Family Fun magazine has a recipe for pizza scones which sounded so good I became a little obsessed with them. Here I have simply married the recipes.

1 1/4 cup sorghum flour
1/2 cup tapioca flour
1 1/2 tsp cream of tartar
3/4 tsp baking soda
1 tsp xanthan gum (not necessary for gluteny flours)
1/4 tsp salt
4 tbsp sugar (I usually use rapadura – for pizza scones, I just used half)
4 tbsp butter, melted (for pizza scones I used EVOO)
2/3 cup plain yogurt or 1/2 cup milk
1 large egg

Preheat oven to 450 degrees. Grease a baking sheet or use a stone. Combine all dry ingredients, mix well. Add wet ingredients and mix well. Dump onto the baking sheet, sprinkle a tbsp or two of milk on top and pat into a 8 inch circle, about an inch thick. Bake for 12-15 minutes. Cut into 6 or 8 wedges.

About a year ago I visited a friend who made scones while we were there and she made them into neat little round circles. This requires a small amount more work in the beginning but then they become much easier to transport and store.

For the pizza-esque ingredients, I cut up some sun-dried tomatoes, added some italian seasoning and some cheese (in our casein-free case, I used Daiya). To serve I spread butter and sprinkle a little garlic and salt. Yum!

Actions

Information

3 responses

5 05 2010
bethany actually

Thanks for sharing! If I make a wheaty, casein-full version I’ll let you know how we liked it. 🙂

5 05 2010
Amy

Those look very good! How do you like Daiya? Where do you get it there (whole foods, TJ’s, other?). I recently bought a block of vegan mozzarella since lactose-intolerant Carlos asked that I put the kibosh on using cheese, but we both love cheese. I will shred this block with my cheese grater which is fine but I am glad to see there is an already-shredded product out there since that is what I was really looking for.

5 05 2010
ZebraBelly

Daiya is the best vegan we’ve tried. Particularly b/c I want minimal soy in our diets and Daiya is soy-free. We like both cheddar and mozzarella style. it’s not good plan, as a cheese stick, but DELICIOUS melted in or on food. We get it at Whole Foods where they have (or had?) it both shredded and in blocks in bulk packaging, but now they have the pre-packaged kind so maybe they are going to switch over entirely to that?

Leave a Reply

