Gluten Free Granola Bars

27 04 2010

I know I need to blog about Disney and my daughter’s birthday, but I also need to get this out of my head before I forget it (unless it’s too late for that…) so I promise to come back soon with photos and anecdotes from our weekend.

granola bars

I knew I’d need to come well prepared with snacks. A bag and a half of gluten-free oats have been sitting in my pantry for awhile with the intent to make granola or granola bars or instant oatmeal, yet I haven’t found the time until an impending vacation made me get off my arse and do it already. (Yes, I just said, “arse.”) I remembered Bethany had made some yummy-looking ones awhile back so I sifted through her blog until I found them. It turns out, she’d tweaked this recipe, and as it turns out, I tweaked her recipe so these are twice removed from the original. I don’t know how that’s important, but there you have it.

Here is my version:

2 cups gluten free rolled oats (not instant or quick)
1 cup sunflower seeds (no shells, of course)
1 cup shredded coconut, loosely packed
3 tablespoons butter (we used Earth Balance since we can’t do dairy)
2/3 cup scant maple syrup, grade B (it has more nutrients than grade A)
Couple spoonfuls of peanut butter
2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon sea salt
3/4 cup chopped dried apricots
1/2 cup raisins
1/2 cup dates, seeded and diced (we had a bunch of these from our CSA… yum!)

Heat the oven to 350 F and line an 8×12 baking pan with parchment.

Mix the oats and coconut together on a cookie sheet and bake for 10 to 12 minutes, stirring every few minutes, till lightly browned. Transfer the mixture to a large bowl.

Reduce the oven temperature to 300 F.

Place the butter, maple syrup, peanut butter, and salt in a small saucepan and bring to a boil over medium heat. Cook and stir for a minute, then add the vanilla. Pour over the oat mixture and stir. Add the dried fruit and mix well. Scrape into the parchment-papered pan, spreading it around evenly and pressing it flat with a spatula. To press the bar mixture more firmly in the pan, wet your clean hands and press away. Bake for 25 to 30 minutes, until light golden brown. Cool for at least 2 hours before cutting into squares or oblongs with a sharp knife. Store in an airtight container. Try not to eat them all at once. (I totally plagiarized this from Bethany, BTW. Hope that’s OK!)

Actions

Information

3 responses

27 04 2010
bethany actually

It’s totally okay. It’s even more okay you used maple syrup because I was toying with that idea myself. Was it yum?

27 04 2010
ZebraBelly

Totally. It didn’t have a particularly strong mapley taste, but it was nice and sweetly salty.

29 04 2010
imadeitso

those look SO good. i’m skeptical, because you have a way of making everything look good in your photos 😉 i may have to try this one.

Leave a Reply

