7 Days: Day 1 (Butter)

20 12 2009

7 Days: Day 1 (Butter)

Years ago, while I was preparing for a Thanksgiving dinner, I decided I’d serve homemade butter – I even used the cookie press to make fancy, shaped pats of butter. A few days before the meal, our friends Summer and Brandon were over and I decided to enlist them to help in the butter-making. Apparently it went over well. So for six years now (Brandon counts them which is awesome, IMO) we’ve been making butter each year and he’s declared that it’s not Christmas until the butter happens.

Moral of the story is that you should make your friends do your manual labor and they’ll want to come back every year and do it again.

If you haven’t done this before, it’s very simple: heavy whipping cream + a touch of salt, sealed in a jar and shaken until your arms want to fall off. You’ll hear a distinctive flopping and in one magical moment your butter was created! This, apparently, signals the beginning of Christmas.

1st day

I made a gluten-free gingerbread, we drank fancy, bubbly grape and blueberry juice in my vintage Anchor Hocking 12 Days of Christmas Glasses, and we all made silly faces before scarfing our magic Christmas butter.

Actions

Information

4 responses

20 12 2009
Sarah

I love that last photo – perfect composition, DOF and festive warmth.

20 12 2009
Sonja

I covet those glasses. AND your magical Christmas butter!

22 12 2009
Vickii

I remember vividly sitting in the red circle on the floor in kindergarten, next to my one true first love, Mario, in Mrs. Somebody’s class who had us make butter every week. This was quite a fascinating thing 41 years ago in urban Chicago, really, though I didn’t appreciate it til decades to come. She’d have us pass a few jars around the circle, and we’d shakeshakeshaketilourarmsfelloff and then we’d have buttered bread afterward.

13 12 2010
Christmas Miracle, Now Featuring Goat « Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] As you know, we gather with Summer and Brandon each year to make butter. Brandon says it’s not Christmas until the butter happens, and Summer calls it a Christmas Miracle. Both are accurate in this household. But, since discovering I can’t have cow dairy, I’ve not enjoyed the fruits of our shaking for years now. This year the co-op I’m part of had a goat milk co-op going on for awhile. I was never able to participate for a few reasons – for one thing, it wasn’t close to me. For another thing, I can only handle so much goat before I get very grumpy at everyone. Since I’m the only on the house eating goat products it wasn’t worth it to me for what small amount I’d order. Still, it inspired me to see if I could find some goat cream somewhere to try to make butter out of. […]

Leave a Reply

