Let the Holidays Begin!

5 12 2009

Last night was the annual celebration of the holidays at Balboa Park. It’s a tradition I hold deeply important: riding the train, enjoying the lights and music, buying mistletoe, free museums, cold night air, hot cider, bagpipes, the same gingerbread cookies they’ve sold since I was a child (full of gluten). I’ve got memories of Christmas on the Prado going back to my childhood and I cherish them.

my son vs. the train

and they're off!

the museum of man at night

green

There was lots we didn’t get to last night – we didn’t even make it to the International Cottages – but we had a blast. And now it feels as though the holidays can truly begin. Today we’ll decorate the tree and house and tonight we’ll complete this big opening weekend by enjoying the parade right outside our apartment complex (oh how I love living in downtown CV) with hot chocolate and maybe even gingerbread cookies.

For the whole set click here.

And I’ll be back later with a post of my favorite places to shop online so don’t shop yet, ok?

Actions

Information

2 responses

5 12 2009
bethany actually

All the years I’ve lived in San Diego and I’ve never made it to Christmas on the Prado. I thought about going this year but didn’t feel like doing it without Troy. I’m glad you guys had fun, though! I’ll enjoy looking at your pretty pictures. 🙂

17 12 2009
internetfruit

I love, love the picture of your family waving from the train. Wow. Awesome.

Leave a Reply

