California, I am Afraid

23 05 2009

Last week, the voters overwhelmingly turned down four propositions which were written in attempt to help the state budget crisis. They voted yes even more overwhelmingly on the final one which had to do with the salaries of the one who write the budgets – and that, of course, made me literally LOL. But for the rest, I am quite sad.

I heard a quote today on NPR that the democrats are unwilling to budge on services and programs, and the republicans are unwilling to budge on taxes. Which is so true. And which lumps me solidly in with the dems (no surprise there).

Because these props failed they are now threatening to cut Medi-Cal eligibility and entirely ditch the Healthy Families program which covers my kids and more than a million others in the state. Can someone please explain to me how ANYONE can think the world will be a better place if we so many people wind up uninsured? Because I just can’t see it myself.

Actions

Information

One response

24 05 2009
Jenny

They don’t fucking care. It is so ridiculous. As long as they don’t have to pay any more money, they do.not.care. what happens to everyone else. But I’m pessimistic this early in the morning I suppose; I hope this changes, but I’m not holding my breath. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

