Lemon Bars, Zebra-Style

17 04 2009

daffodils and a snack

On Monday, when I met Bethany at the park, she not only gave me the lemon plate she painted which I coveted, but she also tossed in a bunch of actual lemons to go with it. !!! After a trip to the store to buy some, you know, sugar, I made this recipe that I have made several times before – it’s so good! It’s Corey’s recipe and, honestly, without it my life would be a little sadder.

Crust:
1 C butter
2 C flour
1/2 C powdered sugar

Filling:
4 eggs
1/2 tsp. freshly grated lemon rind
1/2 tsp. baking powder
1/4 C lemon juice
1/4 flour
2 C granulated sugar
powdered sugar for decoration

Preheat oven to 350F. Mix together butter, flour, and sugar until a rich dough forms. Spread in a well-greased 9×13-inch pan. Bake for 20 to 25 minutes. Cool for 10 minutes.

Beat eggs. Slowly mix in lemon rind, baking powder, lemon juice, flour, and sugar. Pour mixture over crust. Bake at 350F for 20 to 25 minutes. Cool in pan for 30 minutes. Dust with powdered sugar and cut into bars. Makes 2 dozen bars.

However, I was low on eggs and butter and am short on money right now so I decided I’d halve the recipe to save on the expensive items (and have less of the sugary outcome to have around the house beckoning to me), but still put in the same amount of lemon juice because I live on the edge and also because I had a lot of lemons that needed to be eaten (this week I have also had lemony rice and pasta and chicken. I hope to God that when we buy a house it comes with a lemon tree, otherwise Bethany is going to have to share more often!).

See, but here’s the thing – I’m a flake. So I kept forgetting I was halving the recipe. So, it went more like this:

Crust:
1/2 C butter and coconut oil combined
2 C flour. Crap. No, I mean 1 C. *scoops some out*
1/2 C powdered sugar Crap, I mean 1/4 C. Oh well. *leaves it in*

Filling:
2 eggs
1/2 tsp. freshly grated lemon rind (too lazy)
1/2 tsp. baking powder. Crap, no. I mean 1/4 tsp. Oh well, too late now.
1/4 C lemon juice
1/4 flour *remembered JUST in time!* *pats self on back*
2 C granulated sugar. CRAP already. I mean 1 C. *scoops some out*
powdered sugar for decoration (heh, yeah WAY too lazy)

I was not at all sure how they would turn out. But, by some miracle, they turned out not only perfectly, but pretty much how they always do. Go figure. Moral of the story is: recipes are for fools. Also Bethany is my lemon pimp now. Unless that offends her.

lemon plate, lemon bars

Actions

Information

7 responses

17 04 2009
bethany actually

I will gladly be your lemon pimp. I have a whole refrigerator drawer full of lemons still, with more on the tree. Holler when you run out!

Also, I love those photos, your recipe with the commentary cracked me up.

18 04 2009
RefriedBeansWithLard

Well, why does Bethany get all the pimpho action? What can I be the pimp of? šŸ˜¦

18 04 2009
Corey

LOL! get out of my kitchen.

18 04 2009
Jenny

So do you use a butter sub for these? I’m totally going to try these before I cut out wheat, but with Earth Balance for the butter; they sound yummy!

18 04 2009
ZebraBelly

Yeah, Jenny, I always use Earth Balance. šŸ™‚

18 04 2009
Jenny

Awesome! So excited to try them. I wish I had someone to get lots of lemons from though. I was actually just trying to convince my mom yesterday that she needs to get a lemon tree (and avocado too). Mmmmmm.

7 05 2009
Wendy

Dude. I’m totally making these today. And no sissy half recipe either.

Leave a Reply

