Disneyland is for Grownups

28 03 2009

Or it is at least a very different experience without kids. For one thing I did not see ONE character in costume all day long. It was very strange.

7 Days: Day 1 Placeholder

Despite leaving my house before 7am, we did not actually get inside the park until after 11am – I think its rather hard to coordinate a large group of people, particularly when said group of people each have their own Starbucks runs to complete.

flair

new monorails

Even so, it was a really great day. I got to ride Indy for the first time in nearly 8 years (“riding Indy” sounds kind of dirty, but I’m totally OK with that), Haunted Mansion without traumatizing any kids and I did not have to suffer through Toon Town at all!

For years I’ve listened to various friends promising me that rollercoasters at Disneyland are not scary at all, and have, in fact, converted several people who previously (like me) would never step foot on a rollercoatser. So I figured that spending a day with a bunch of grownups at Disneyland would probably end with me riding some big scary ride or another. I didn’t feel particularly nervous about this – despite all the time we spent discussing how people had died on various rides – but I sat out on Big Thunder Mountain anyway. Of course, when I saw all these tiny kids getting off the ride, I felt sheepish (not to be confused with goatish) because I am a grownup person and so should not be out-coastered by eight-year-olds.

big thunder mountain

So I let them talk me into riding the Matterhorn. Which was a really bad idea, actually.

Rationally, I knew I’d live. I thought I might even discover I liked these rides after all, like so many converts before me. I didn’t fear the monster, even though they admitted that it was, actually, the scary part. Essentially, I knew people rode this all day long FOR FUN and dammit, I was going to enjoy this.

about to be traumatized

And I was wrong. But I tried! I am quite proud to admit I even opened my eyes a couple of times, but in the end I don’t like all the movement – it’s just too much for me and I was miserable. I braced myself against it, kept my head down, and tried to find a happy place. As the ride ended, I tried to contain myself and pretend I am 31 years old, but I lost control and actually did cry. Which, frankly, is pretty damn funny, and I like to imagine all the little kids getting off the ride behind me must have been confused and maybe I will even live on in their dreams as the old lady who cried on the bobsleds. I’m OK with that. But more OK with riding Indy.

Anyway, I am 100% glad I went. I even got a Matterhorn pressed penny from the Main Street Penny Arcade to commemorate the occasion. I consider it a medal. Or, you know, a pressed penny.

And I don’t know why I like Indiana Jones, but the Matterhorn sends me to tears. Go figure. Maybe it’s just the rides that kids can go on that terrify me. In any case, I think crying gets people off your back so I never did have to try Space Mountain.

Somewhere towards Dark, Brandon lost his ticket so that he would not be able to do the park hopping it allows. He was feeling pretty upset and we were wondering what to do next when I suggested he go to City Hall and see if they could help him. He was, after all, inside the park already. Sure enough when he walked in all he had to say was, “Hi, I’ve lost my t-” before the Disneyland employee started pretty much throwing tickets at him. No one can say Customer Service at Disney isn’t the best EVER.

Also while we were in there, the same employee noticed Summer’s name on her birthday badge and, after confirming that she was, indeed, Summer from San Diego, he informed her she had a message waiting for her.

summer gets a call from goofy

“Is it Mickey?” She asked.
“It is definitely not Mickey!” He replied.

And he spoke the truth – actually, it was Goofy.

feet over california

Our last stop (mine and Katie’s anyway since we drove home that night while everyone else stayed in a hotel) was back over a California Adventure for Soarin’ and Screamin’. (It occurs to me that DCA seems to have a problem adding the last “g” onto some words.) And I assure you I did NOT scream. But I did step across the ride after having waited in line with my friends so I felt some of the thrill of it. Also I got this picture of everyone except Summer who was not hiding on purpose.

notice how I am NOT in the roller coaster

It was a fantastic day, filled with happy and hilarious memories. I’m so glad I got to spend my frister’s 30th birthday with her. After all, not everyone gets to have a frister.

fristers

Clicky here for the whole set.

Actions

Information

7 responses

31 03 2009
Melissa

OMG! The Matterhorn is the worst roller coaster that you could have tried. I have fond memories of it being fun when I was a kid, but as an adult it is downright painful! Big Thunder is way less scary in the “I think I might die” sense. But you were smart to avoid Space Mountain, that would have been roller coaster overload. Can you please tell Chad that he needs to take me to Disneyland? I am going through withdrawals!!!!!

1 04 2009
Corey

What an amazing day. ♥ I love how you ‘ve written about here. So sorry that you cried! I could feel that release as I read what you wrote. And sorry, too, I am one of those people who try to convert the rollercoaster timid.

1 04 2009
ZebraBelly

You know, Corey, that’s OK with me. Just so long as you feel really badly when you make me cry. LOL j/k of course 😉

2 04 2009
Luci

I feel the same way about rollercoasters. I just don’t like them. They don’t really make me sick or anything, I just don’t enjoy the fear. I used to love them when I was little, I’m not sure what happened…Anyway, I wish I could get excited about them like everyone else, but instead I dread them.

23 02 2010
These are the faces I make on rides. « Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] least I didn’t cry this […]

10 10 2010
Oh, I’m living dangerously now! « Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] tried convincing me of that when I rode the Matterhorn, Cells. And then you screamed the whole way […]

21 05 2011
Star Tours and Disneyland « Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] when she told me about this, I told her she should opt for someone who, you know, doesn’t cry on roller coasters so she could have more fun, but in the end she asked me anyway and who am I to say no to that? And […]

Leave a Reply

