Making Me Happy

25 03 2009

I’ve been feeling low lately but I am unwilling to go there again. Mostly, I get sucked into my computer (bad, internets, being so interesting!). But that doesn’t make me any happier. So today I am working on Happiness.

I have already taken care of the GIANT pile of stuff hanging out in the corner of my dining room. Filed what needed to be filed, put away what needed to be put away, tossed what needed to be tossed (or, you know, recycled), and whittled it down to a very small to-to pile.

I also cleaned up my bedroom. I tossed all the toys at the kids for them to put away (and the kids happily ignored me and there the toys lay where they landed in the living room), put books on shelves, kinda sorta organized part of the closet, made the bed, folded the blankets, and tossed The Husband’s random crap (90% of which were ponytail holders) into his bathroom drawer. I now have a very small pile of hand-wash-only clothes which has been sitting there for months but which WILL BE DONE TODAY. There are also some random large items on the floor which I have no space for – two box fans, a tool box and a breadmaker (because, as it turns out, if you loiter on dark streets, women will drive by in minivans and throw them at you – so now I have two and have not yet started making bread again).

This is not the end, though. I have another “inbox” pile next to the computer which frightens me. Not to mention that The Husband’s piles are slowly growing. I need a storage space. I am thinking of renting one because FRACK the clutter is killing me. And if I could maybe put the Christmas decorations out of my closet for 11 months of the year, I’d be able to organize things much better. Don’t you think?

Anyway, I am feeling much better already. It is such a balance between allowing myself to be happy even if things aren’t magazine-decorator-perfect and recognizing that certain amounts of not-perfect really do take a toll on my mental health. So I will continue working on clutter and continue working on me and somewhere, I hope, they might meet in the middle.

Also, did I mention I am going to Disneyland? WITHOUT KIDS?

Actions

Information

3 responses

25 03 2009
Jill

It all depends on what set you roll with. Some gangsta moms have Expeditions and throw larger appliances, like $1200 espresso makers, at rival moms.

25 03 2009
Andrea

Hi,
great site! very interesting!
Bye, Andrea from italy!

26 03 2009
Amy

“Anyway, I am feeling much better already. It is such a balance between allowing myself to be happy even if things aren’t magazine-decorator-perfect and recognizing that certain amounts of not-perfect really do take a toll on my mental health. Hmmm…do we share a portion of our psyches, I wonder??? When I first got HGTV last year, I was enthralled for a few days but then after that I couldn’t even watch anymore because sometimes it made me CRY to watch these people, with these houses, and I’d be like…”but I don’t even know how to beginnnnnnnnn to make my house look so cuteeeeeeeeeeee”. Yes, I know I’m tapped, but w/e.

anyhow.

DISNEYLAND! Wooooooo hoo! When are you going?

Leave a Reply

