Socks!

22 03 2009

socks! and coffee!

It was that kind of a day – rainy and lovely and quiet. Just begging for a hot coconut mocha and knitting.

I have decided to try my hand at socks. Or hands, actually, as I’m not sure I could do it one-handed. I’ve been feeling the sock urge coming on for awhile now and while at Borders this weekend taking advantage of a birthday gift card and their Educator Appreciation Week, I picked up this book. It does not have a beginner sock pattern, but I feel like I know enough (and know of enough resources to help me through the difficult bits) to give it a shot.

I visited the knitting store today to buy some yarn and was talked out of sock yarn (I’m totally OK with that) and into buying a beginner’s sock pattern (which I wish I hadn’t done – there must be a free one online, no?). As it turns out the pattern is horribly complicated – or perhaps annoyingly simplified, depending on how you look at it – and I am back to my original idea of just winging it by following the directions in the book.

All that to say, simply, I’ve begun. You can follow my progress on Ravelry if you have an account and if I remember to post my progress.

Actions

Information

6 responses

22 03 2009
Jill

And I stare at the chocolate, ignoring the yarn…

Coconut syrup? Like Torani? I’ve tried to make lattes and mochas out of coconut milk and they were almost vile.

23 03 2009
mardi

Have a look on Ravelry, there are a lot of sock patterns and groups where people can help you out
Good luck
Mardi

23 03 2009
Amy

Oooh! Must…try…coconut mocha….now! That sounds wonderful! Your sock yarn is such a pretty colour. Please post pics of finished socks! I love socks and perhaps I’ll try knitting a pair someday. You know, when I finish with that scarf that I’ve been working on for two years. Ha.

23 03 2009
ZebraBelly

Jill – Yes, Torani. I agree. Coconut milk is nas-tay in coffee. Sadly, because it’s such a wonderful idea in theory.

I’ve tried all-natural organic coconut flavoring to avoid the sugar, but for some reason THAT tastes like fingernail polish. And fingernail polish is not exactly my favorite coffee flavor, either.

23 03 2009
ZebraBelly

Thanks, Mardi!

29 03 2009
Wendy

I loves socks, once you *get* them they are easy-peasy, I don’t need a pattern now. Buy why were you talked out of sock yarn?

Leave a Reply

