A Lesson in LOLcats

17 03 2009

lolcat

And a defense on why they ARE SO(!!!) funny.

A couple of nights ago I went out to dinner with some friends and the table was very nearly evenly divided among the LOLfans and the LOLhaters. We were just waiting on Luci to make up her mind as to which side to join. I don’t know that she ever did, so here I am (in ur computer) swaying the vote. LOLlovers will WIN. No pressure or anything, Luci, but if you want to be cool, you’ll pick our side.

I don’t know exactly where or when LOLcats began, but they are quite controversial (as representated by our table at dinner). Admittedly, there are quite a few which are simply not funny, or which go too far with the bad spelling. If I have to spend more time trying to translate what you wrote than I do on actually laughing, it’s too much – tone it down a bit, mkay? It seems that as time goes on the truly funny LOLcats are fewer and farther between – I suspect this is because there is a finite amount of funny LOLs out there floating around the Universe waiting to be used. So there is sometimes a lot of unfunny or even completely annoying LOLs to sift through, but the gems are worth it.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

In the beginning was HappyCat. I actually don’t understand this one, but it will be on the quiz so take notes.

happycat

Which is strange because you would think that in the beginning was Ceiling Cat.

ceilingcatnsfw2

But you cannot have a Power of Good without an equal Power of Evil. Thus, behold Basement Cat.

basementcat

basementcateatssouls

A common LOLcat formula is “I’m in your blank, blanking your blank”. Usually the “your” is represented by “ur” which I, personally, think is way cuter, but I understand those who disagree.

inurgarage2

inurcouch2

inurquantum
(See? They can be smart, too!)

But some of my very favorite LOLs come in the “invisible” variety. (Which is, by the way, an example of how not all LOLcats need improper spelling or grammar.)

invisiblebike2

invisibleviolin

invisiblesandwich2

invisible-window

Not all LOLs are of the cat variety. The LOLrus is a very poorly named seal who was famous in Japan for his bucket tricks, he has since passed on. I don’t really get this one, either, but again, no LOL-education is complete without studying the LOLrus and his Bucket Saga.

lolruscomplete

Some cats which do not fit into any other category but without which your education is not complete (or else they are just cute).

monorailcat

rubix

emokid2

Lastly, for those of you who consider the poor grammar and spelling to be offensive to Cats of the World, you are not the only one.

smartcat

You can find your daily LOL at I Can Has Cheezburger?

Actions

Information

11 responses

17 03 2009
Jess

That was frickin’ great! And I think I’m a fan of LOLcats 🙂

17 03 2009
lorien

Ok, so almost all of those? Funny. Some of them LOL kind of funny.

17 03 2009
Wendy

The non-believers should be forced to read the bible in lolcat.

17 03 2009
ZebraBelly

Ooooh Lorien! Bonnie=WIN! “roffelmayo!”

17 03 2009
Jenny

Okay, I have never been a fan of them. But these? Funny! I actually did LOL at a few of them. I was determined to hate these forever. Damn.

17 03 2009
bethany actually

I am a proud LOLfan! I suck at writing them, though. Invisible LOLcats are my fave too.

18 03 2009
Amy

I love LOLcats so very much. So many of the classics on here! Thanks for making me smile this morning.

18 03 2009
Katherine

I love LOLcats, with a fiery passion. A month or so ago, I actually saw an ad for a work from home job as a moderator for LOL Cats. My DREAM job. Can you imagine how amazing that would be?

18 03 2009
Luci

Let this here comment be my official vote in favor of the LOLcat.
I totally agree that some, arguably, most are unworthy of publishing, what with their very unfunny punchlines and skewed grammar. But you sure did pick some gems!!!
And I’m not ashamed to admit that ceiling cat had me in stitches! Invisible action cats? I have only one word…ROFLMAO.

Kudos, LOLcats!

18 03 2009
Elaine

OMG, I had Mark LOLing at the Invisible cats. BRILLIANT explanation. I shall bookmark it and refer nonbelievers as needed.

7 12 2009
PHIL THE PICKLE

I LIKE MEH BUCKET >:D

Leave a Reply

