Yule Letter 2008

30 12 2008

Dear Friends and Family,

I cannot think of any way to begin this year’s holiday letter that isn’t cliché (except maybe that way), but 2008 has flown by in a whirlwind of happiness, growth, love and laughter.

In March, just around the beginning of Spring, The Daughter reached a milestone – she lost her first tooth! She has since earned three more visits from the Tooth Fairy (although she rolls her eyes at me when I try to pretend about the Tooth Fairy – to which I reply, “You know the rule: no eye rolling until you are thirteen!”). In September this year, M entered the first grade homeschooling-style (although, in my personal philosophy, grade levels are unnecessary) and with that came a sudden hunger for reading chapter books. She can devour several American Girls or Magic Treehouse books in a single evening if she sets her mind to it. She is maturing so much and being helpful is her goal in all situations. She is growing into a loving and giving little girl who cares so much about other people – I am thrilled to call her my daughter.

The younger child, too, is growing up. He has continued speech therapy – now within the local school district – and his language is just exploding. He knows all his ABC’s and the sounds they make, most of his numbers, and even how to read and spell a few short words. For the longest time, he absolutely refused to let us cut his hair, but just the other day he suddenly decided it wasn’t scary after all and now he looks like a big boy instead of my baby. He has become a very sensitive child in the past year, his heart obviously hurts when he hurts another person. He will put his hands over my mouth and tell me, “Don’t say anyfings (anything)” when he is afraid I will chastise him, no matter how gently I do it. He is spunky and gentle and wild and loving. Like his sister, his smile can light up a room.

As for the parents, nothing much is new. In May I decided to bite the bullet and buy a DSLR camera – it was a tough decision, but in the end I feel it was a good one – I have used it daily since May. In June I became active in the local Unitarian Universalist church (a liberal spiritual community which welcomes all faiths) and have helped them to open a new campus here in CV. The kids have enjoyed being a part of the community and all three of us have benefited by getting to know some really great people and having the chance to become active in our community – if not now, then in years to come. In other news, The Shape of a Mother was redesigned which took up a great deal of my time and energy this year and it looks so beautiful and I am so thrilled with it! The biggest news won’t happen until next year, but a British TV station contacted me about the website – they are filming a documentary on motherhood and body image and are coming out here to interview some other moms and me in January! The Husband took another trip out to Yuma this year to play a show with his band. Unfortunately, the show didn’t happen, but he did get to eat at Cracker Barrel which was surely a highlight of his year (he loves it!). He also attended Comic Con as usual and this year he met Carlton Cuse (who geeks like me will recognize as one of the head writers and producers of Lost) and I am jealous. We have spent the year house hunting, but have not yet found the perfect house for us – by next year we hope to be sending this card to you from an actual home!

If you’d like to follow our lives during the year, we invite you to visit CrowderLand.com – it has become, primarily, a homeschooling blog, but I post tons of pictures of the kids each week and, on the right-hand side, you can find links to our photos at Flickr as well as our videos at YouTube, and M’s art gallery. Unfortunately there are too many big scary freaks online so earlier this year I made all photos of the kids viewable only to friends and family which means that if you want to browse them, you will need to create an account at http://flickr.com/signup/ and then send me a message (you can do that here: http://www.flickr.com/photos/zebrabelly/) and I will fix it so that you can see our photos. One benefit to this is that my friends and family can easily download any photos they want to print or save for themselves. I will give you directions on that if you like.

Well, that’s our year in a nutshell! We hope yours was just as lovely and we wish for a blessed 2009 for you all!

Love,

A, B, M & E

our card this year

Actions

Information

4 responses

30 12 2008
Sarah

Ooh, which TV station? Sounds like the sort of thing Channel 4 would do.

30 12 2008
ZebraBelly

RDF Media? I dunno. Never heard of them – of course there’s probably lots of British TV I’ve never head of. Just don’t tell me they aren’t legit.

30 12 2008
Sarah

RDF are good – as I thought, they do stuff mainly for Channel 4. I was going to wind you up and say that they were awful, but ultimately decided that I didn’t want to be responsible for any unexpected cardiac events.

30 12 2008
ZebraBelly

My heart says thank you, Sarah. lol

Leave a Reply

