An Open Letter to Starbucks

30 12 2008

Dear All the Starbucks in San Diego,

First I want to thank you for providing a place where I can always count on a delicious drink, and a place where the employees understand the concept of “dairy-free”. I generally like to support local businesses, but am often disappointed when I go elsewhere and they look at me like I’ve grown another head when I ask for soy or anything without cow milk. So thank you for being a place that supports those of us who cannot tolerate dairy. (Also thank you for drive-throughs. In fact, God bless you for drive-throughs.)

However, I wanted to alert you to a little problem I’ve been dealing with at several of my local Starbucks – namely when they run out of soy milk. At first I tried to be understanding – after all, we all make mistakes, right? I assumed the person who does the ordering would simply make sure to always have enough soy milk on hand in the future. Sadly, this is more often not the case.

Still, I tried to be patient and give you all the benefit of the doubt, because I would hope people would do the same for me (also I would hope you would not spit in my drinks).

But I’m kind of over that now.

The way I see it is that if you were to run out of cow milk, you’d MAKE DAMN SURE you had cow milk on hand, even if it meant running to the supermarket and buying some, right? Because without cow milk, you cannot make most of the drinks you make.

I don’t choose soy for the health benefits, or for the fantastic flavor – I choose it because I cannot tolerate cow milk. Therefore, if you don’t have soy on hand, I cannot drink at your store. And, to clarify, anyone else who cannot tolerate cow milk also cannot drink at your store. Is this discrimination? Well, in not so many words; kinda, yeah. Because, once again, you would sure never run out of cow milk now would you? Because you want to cater to your customers, right? All your customers except those who cannot tolerate cow milk. Like me.

So. From now on I’m going to go ahead and make sure I leave with a voucher for a free coffee every time you run out of soy milk. Sounds fair to me, don’t you agree?

Thank you very much,
The Zebra

Actions

Information

2 responses

30 12 2008
Anna

Go Zebra!

31 12 2008
Jess

excellent points!

Leave a Reply

