30 More Tiny Moments: Day 6 (and other stuff)

7 11 2008

Day 7

This is a gift-in-progress for a holiday swap on my AP board. No telling what it will be just yet!

As for the other stuff:
Remember when I said I had a political nemesis? I’m not sure I used those very words, but that is what it boils down to. She is the sort of person who does not want to be bothered with stupid things like FACTS, unless they can be bent to fit with her personal, and narrow, view of the world. Well, she did not take McCain’s loss well. In fact she announced on said message board that from now on she and her husband would not be giving any money to charities due to being sent to the poor house by Obama’s tax plan (I should add here that once she said she would never ever give money to PBS because it already gets too much money from the government *sigh*). Essentially, she is going to screw charities because she is so rich she cannot handle having her money “stolen” from her. Oh, yes, stolen. That is the second, and more horrendous part to her rant: her first-grade son said daddy should stop working for the next four years so the government wouldn’t steal his money. I get that she and I disagree on taxes. I truly do. Not everyone wants higher taxes, that’s understandable. But to consider it being stolen from I think is extreme and when I consider the places where those taxes could be going – schools, hospitals, low-income programs, etc – I consider her extreme point of view to be cold and even cruel.

So I kinda jumped on her for it. And I wasn’t the only one. I left for the day and when I came back, she had left the message board in a huff. But here’s the silver lining to the soap opera: I feel, for the first time, that I am accepted at that board. As it turns out, I am not the only one who felt she was rather an instigator. So all this time – because I stood up to her – I thought *I* was probably seen as the instigator, but I find out now I was simply speaking the truth. It feels light and happy in my heart at this news. It is a relief and I look forward to many happy years there. Even if she comes back – at least I know I’m liked.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

