This Election…

13 10 2008

Before I go on I want to say that I respect thinkers of all views. I know people who are on the opposite end of the political spectrum than I and I respect them for it. That said, anyone voting for John McCain may want to skip this post. Fair warning. 😉

I am terrified. This whole election has set uncomfortably in my gut, I have been to afraid to dare hope that a Democrat will regain the presidency. In the same vein, I have been too afraid that another Republican would win and so I try not to think about the future. Sometimes I break out of my little shell to realize that in less than a month we will (theoretically) know who the next president is, and my belly does a flip and I change my inner monologue’s subject.

This last week it has been speculated that Obama may even win by a landslide, but that only makes me want to bury my head further in. Not because I don’t want it to be true, but because I don’t think I could handle it if my hopes were to be dashed come November.

I cannot fathom how people would still vote for John McCain after Sarah Palin’s recent interviews. I don’t give a shit if all her intensive training gave her the right script for the debates, those interviews showed who she truly is. And if that is the person McCain thinks is best to choose, then we have to seriously question McCain’s decision making ability. He will do no good for our country. None at all.

But the other thing that scares me more than that (maybe) is Prop 8 which is up for voting this election day. Back in June, the state of California extended the right of marriage to all people, regardless of your spouse’s gender. Now the conservatives want to take that away. I still cannot fathom why they care. They say churches will lose their tax status, but that is simply not true. The only possible explanation is hatred and fear. There is no other answer that I can see. (And believe me I’ve been through any and all debates on the subject.) If Prop 8 passes, I will be sick with shame at my fellow Californians.

I generally like politics – they get me fired up and passionate. But this year it is wearing on my emotions. I cannot wait for it all to be over. Or maybe I can. We shall see.

Actions

Information

3 responses

13 10 2008
Jenny

You have stated my feelings exactly. Afraid to hope, yet afraid of the truly scary alternative. Disgust at the people who can possibly support Prop 8 (yes, this probably includes my own mother, but I haven’t asked her for fear of her answer). And trying desperately not to worry about it so this baby can grow and be born in a positive environment.

13 10 2008
kelli

I’m with you, I am SO afraid of a repeat of the shock and horror that was four years ago. Wake me up when it’s over.

16 10 2008
Anna

Yup. I feel ya.

Leave a Reply

