Muppet Love

28 09 2008

Last Sunday at church they played Harry Belafonte’s “Turn the World Around” and I got all teary-eyed and emotional. Because, although Harry is awesome, so are the Muppets, and when I was very small, I remember watching it and it moved me so deeply, even as a child.

Truly I miss Jim Henson and how beautiful his stuff could be. Sometimes dark, sometimes weird, sometimes emotional, always amazing. The Muppets have never recovered from that very great loss. (And they aren’t trying too hard, either, putting out crap like Sid the Science Kidit’s not even puppets!!!) (Although they came close when they did MirrorMask a few years ago.)

Today’s entry at CakeWrecks is a Muppet cake. And at first I was a little offended until I remembered that Sundays over there are about remembering the good cakes.

The detail is stunning:

And, although this isn’t my very favorite part of the cake, Sam is definitely on my list of Very Favorite Muppets.

(You can see all of those photos here.)

So, yes, I love me some Muppets. I could easily (and often do) have deep Spiritual moments with these Muppets. It’s not hard to get me to cry over Jim Henson (just as I do over Mr. Rogers), and my lord, but how I love The Rainbow Connection. Even (especially?) the version by the Gimme Gimmes.

Recently, someone – we think they are official – began posting new clips of Muppets on YouTube. It is that same classic humor we love so. Check them out:

OMG how I LOVE the internet.

Actions

Information

3 responses

28 09 2008
Corey

Huge Jim Henson/Frank Oz fans here. Thanks for posting these. I am going to play them again for the family tomorrow. 🙂

29 09 2008
Jess

Me too! That cake is amazing!!! I had no idea that Sid the Science guy had anything to do with Henson Productions. Weird!

30 09 2008
Amy

That cake is un-freaking-believable.

Leave a Reply

