UU

15 09 2008

For a long time now I have been wanting to become a part of the local Unitarian Universalist church (not to be confused with our local Unarians), but it’s not close at all and since we already have out-of-our-city commitments a few times a week, I just could not afford to drive there weekly without cutting something else out. However, on one of my visits there about a year ago, I saw they had a table in the courtyard with information about opening a new location right here in my town! I was excited at the prospect, but nervous that it would fall through so I kind of stayed out of it until they announced last June that they had secured a location at a local elementary school. So I showed up to the meeting, got myself recruited for the Religious Education committee, and have been working towards this goal ever since.*

Last Sunday, we had our first practice service (we open to the public October 5th). I spent most of it measuring the RE room and brainstorming a list of supplies we’d need, but when we wandered in for the end, it was really, really good. They are filming the Saturday night sermons over at the Hillcrest campus and showing it for us on Sunday mornings. Interesting how technology can make things possible, isn’t it?

chalice

projector

piano

mic and chalice

If you are interested in the rest of the set, click here.

In far more important news…. I just got my laptop back! Eeeeeeeeeee!

*Technically, I really haven’t done anything worth speaking of yet. I will. Oh, yes, I will.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

