My shame is your enjoyment.

23 06 2008

I am going to tell you something very shameful about myself.

When I was a kid I missed seeing a lot of movies for some reason. It wasn’t until high school or college that I caught myself up on movies like The Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink, and Indiana Jones. (Oddly some movies I did see as a child were Grease and Dirty Dancing which as an adult I wonder if maybe they weren’t the best choice for an eight-year-old?) There are still some movies I have not seen like Footloose or the last two Back to the Futures.

But that is not the shameful part.

I also did not see Star Wars. My mom tried to show it to me once when I was very small and I was Bored as Hell and ran off to play with whatever toy was popular in the year 1982.

But that is also not the shameful part.

The shameful part comes when I first watched Star Wars circa 1997.*

I knew the hero was Luke Skywalker. I figured he must be the strong, handsome, manly guy that all the girls liked. I was in for a Big Disappointment. Turns out he was the scrawny whiny brat of the story. Somehow I had made it through the 80’s and most of the 90’s without ever being truly aware of Han Solo. Nor was I aware that he was played by Harrison Ford. I think my exact quote was, “Oh look! It’s The Fugitive!” I also may have referenced Regarding Henry.**

Go ahead and do or say what you will to me. I may be horribly sheltered, but I am cute and you can’t deny that.

*Which, I mean, really. I watched the movies literally MONTHS before they were re-released on the big screen. I think I watched them and heard the very next week they were going to theatres. I would have just waited had I had any clue.
**Hey now. It’s a good movie.

Actions

Information

9 responses

24 06 2008
doow

I saw the first prequel when it was released at the cinema. It was ok, but I can’t remember anything about it. Star Wars I watched on DVD years ago – probably around the same time, but I couldn’t really work out what all the fuss was about. So I expect I watched Sleepless in Seattle for the gadzillionth time.

24 06 2008
*Jess*

Now, as a kid, with older brothers, I think I saw the first Star Wars (Episode III- a new hope) a billion times. May have had some of it memorized. But Return of the Jedi and that other movie whose name is escaping me? Yeah, STILL have never seen it. I tried to watch one of them when I was in labor with Jaina, but I couldn’t concentrate. Imagine that?

24 06 2008
Amesie

Honestly? I have never seen all of any of the three original Star Wars. I tried watching them as a kid, too, and was also Bored As Hell. And? I also thought Luke was this Major Hero. I still don’t know exactly what went on in those movies.

Speaking of Harrison Ford, the first time I saw the Fugitive, I was not aware that there was a one-armed man in the movie.

…and that’s what the whole movie is about. I am WITH IT, no?

24 06 2008
Sonja

I never saw any of the popular movies when I was growing up, Star Wars included (shameful confession: I was a bit of a Trekkie back then). And really, I wasn’t all that impressed with it when I did see it. I always liked the spoofs better (like Spaceballs).
I also never saw Indiana Jones until after I was married, and saw Temple of Doom for the first time last month.

24 06 2008
ZebraBelly:

LOL Amy.

And, Sonja, my condolances re: Temple of Doom. Actually I was telling Summer recently how it’s not an Indiana Jones movie and she was worried about me for a minute until I said I wasn’t going to stop watching it. Indiana Jones or not, Harrison Ford is HOT.

24 06 2008
houndrat

Um, you didn’t mention watching the Grandaddy of them all. Tell me you haven’t missed Sixteen Candles? That’s not shameful, it’s criminal!

“No more yankee my wankee—the Donger need food!”

24 06 2008
ZebraBelly:

LOL No, I have definitely seen that one – and Better Off Dead I forgot to mention as well – but honestly, Sixteen Candles doesn’t even compare to Pretty in Pink in my mind.

24 06 2008
ZebraBelly:

But OMB I forgot to mention Spaceballs! That one I did see as a child (again… inapporpriate?) and I think I still have it memorized. LOVE IT. To this day whenever I see Bill Pullman I use my best Lord Helmet voice to say, “Lonestarrrr!” and then I dissolve into a fit of giggles.

24 06 2008
Vickii

Ya want shameful (according to all those who surround me who seem to be all SW fanatics)? I saw SW when it first came out on the big screen. I fell asleep.

When it was re-released on the big screen several years ago (10?), I was told, “You HAVE to see it! You must! You don’t know what you’re missing!!” So I went again.

I fell asleep before the first 30 minutes was up.

I have never seen any of the SW legacy. And I feel like I’m missing nothing….except understanding all my friends and family and their abject obsession with it.

Leave a Reply

