I shall have to disown her.

18 12 2007

I really can’t stand the term “lactivist”. I suppose I fit the description OK, but the term itself gives me the willies.

Anyway, the point of this is how I have failed miserably. My daughter has always been around breastfeeding moms (still is!). She herself nursed in public until she was over two and has been there countless times while I have nursed her little brother wherever necessary. Granted, those times have become few and far between now that he is getting older.

The other day for some reason I ended up nursing him in Target for the first time in at least months. My daughter? MY daughter. Shocked and utterly appalled at my actions, chastised me: “Mom? Are you going to do that HERE? Where everyone can SEE your…?”

My boob, dear? Why, yes. Yes I am.

And then I reminded her how it wasn’t weird at all. and that she, herself, had been subjected to the indecency.

Where do they come up with these things??? I swear I do not know who this child is and if she hadn’t been born at home I’d say she must have been switched by accident.

Actions

Information

Leave a Reply

