The Red Sun Was Pasted in the Sky Like a Wafer

23 10 2007

When I was in 11th grade, my English teacher, Mrs. Terry, made us memorize that one line from The Red Badge of Courage. She told us that she wanted us to always think of her whenever she saw a sun in the sky like that. Well. It worked. Last night, Melissa called me to tell me, “Hey. The run sun was pasted in the sky like a wafer.” Hi, Mrs. Terry!

Anyway, obviously, this picture is of a yellow sun. Not a red one.

yellow sky

Click the photo for the set. I will be updating it as I can and as I get photos for it.

We’re still here. Some conditions in my area are getting more favorable. Winds are dying down. They are finally getting the air tankers up so that is supposed to make a big difference. But I’m not at all ready to relax.

All night long, I would get myself up to check the news and internet. When I finally struggled out of bed this morning at 8am, I told the husband I was up much of the night. He said, “I know. Don’t you remember when M had to pee and I told you to go to sleep?” Uh. Nope. Sure don’t. So, apparently, I am also getting up in the night to watch the news in my sleep. Efficient, no?

Anyway, we may head up to some of the shelters today to share some craft supplies for the kids, and we’re planning to drop off a sleeping bag at the local shelter because the Red Cross is tapped out and will not be helping my own town.

Actions

Information

One response

23 10 2007
Sonja

The sun here looks similar. Always reminds me of The Chronicles of Narnia (The Magician’s Nephew) where the sun in the dying world is red…
I’ve been jumping out of my skin every time I hear a siren drive by. Scary stuff.

Leave a Reply

