Young Soul

16 10 2007

Sometimes I wonder if my son wasn’t born before his time. I don’t mean he was premature at birth (although he was accused of having young ears *snicker*). I mean, I wonder if his soul wasn’t yet ready to be born into a family.

He’s got this speech delay (which, by the way, his vocabulary is finally exploding… makes my heart swell to hear him talk) but he’s always seemed younger than kids his age in more ways than that. He always tests perfectly fine for receptive language so I know he understands like he’s supposed, to, but he just doesn’t seem to grasp certain concepts no matter what the tests say.

When M was 18 months old, for example, she chose her Halloween costume and knew how to pretend she was a kitty. We was just 2 weeks shy of 18 months last year and he didn’t seem to get it at all. In fact he only seems to be getting there now.

Could be just because I can’t really tell what’s going on inside his head since he can’t tell me, you know? I don’t know. And I’m not worried about it because he’s so obviously a smart little guy, I have no doubt that he will be a perfectly normal child and no one will ever guess he had these delays.

But sometimes I wonder if we didn’t pull him out of wherever little souls come from earlier than he was meant to be. I wonder if his soul is just trying to go at the age it’s supposed to be. Maybe he was came a year early because he loved us and wanted to be with us?

Silly? Maybe. Romantic and fantastical? Absolutely. But he’s such an amazing person, I don’t doubt for a minute that it’s possible.

Actions

Information

One response

17 10 2007
*Jess*

That is a beautiful way to look at it and I’ve never thought of it that way. And we are in a unique position because our first born children are precocious girls who grasped language in a completely different way than our boys. If we had had Elliot and Jayce first, we wouldn’t think anything of their speech delays, you know?

HUG

Leave a Reply

