Sad Loss

15 09 2007

Today I learned that my very favorite author, Madeleine L’Engle, passed away September 6th.

I don’t remember the first time I read A Wrinkle in Time. I don’t know when it was that I started reading more of her books. But I know that they have taught me much about life, about myself, about God. In many ways, Madeleine L’Engle was one of the greatest teachers I ever had. She was a person who understood love, Creation and the Creator, beauty, trust, mystery and fantasy.

I happen to be reading a new (to me) book of hers right now and feel comforted by the coincidence somehow.

I think my favorite book is An Acceptable Time. Or A Swiftly Tilting Planet.

Bless you, Madeleine L’Engle. And many more in the next life. I am glad you are with your husband again.

Actions

Information

5 responses

16 09 2007
*Jess*

An Acceptable Time is the first book I ever read by her. My mom bought it for me to keep me occupied one afternoon while I had to accompany her to work after school. It quickly became my favorite and I’ve read it too many times to count 🙂

17 09 2007
Amesie

Oh, I remember reading her books in first and second grade. I was entranced by them and I have them at my parents’ house. I really should go get them and re-read them.

19 09 2007
leng

She’s my favorite author, too! I always told my parents that I could believe in the God that Madeleine L’Engle believed in, even if I was disillusioned with the church. I was so sad to hear she’d died. I’d always dreamed of taking a writing seminar with her, but she’d stopped teaching by the time I started looking into it. In fact, I first encountered my daughter’s name in one of Madeleine’s books (one of your favorites, I believe). The book that I first fell in love with was “A Ring of Endless Light.” What book are you reading now?

19 09 2007
ZebraBelly:

YES, Leng! Charles Wallace named the new family dog Ananda in A Swiftly Tilting Planet. I had loved that name ever since for the same reason. 🙂

I’m reading (and finally almost done with) Certain Women.

21 09 2007
leng

BTW, I own pretty much all of her books, with the exception of “The Anti-Muffins,” which is incredibly hard to get ahold of. (An early Austin family book, I think) Anyhoo, if you wanna borrow any, let me know. I think I’m going to re-read “A Small Rain” now.

Leave a Reply

