Random Thoughts on My Thursday

16 08 2007

I went to the zoo twice today. I do not believe I have ever done that before. My son and I dropped his big sister off at Camp Fire day camp and headed across Balboa Park to the zoo to meet some friends. Said friends did not, technically, show up until just as E and I were heading back to pick sis up, but we went back to meet them for lunch. Which they had already eaten by the time we arrived. And then they left. So, really, it wasn’t such a hot idea. Except it WAS a hot idea because I think it was roughly 124 degrees at the zoo today. And, if you have ever been to the San Diego Zoo, you will understand why it is such a bad idea to go there on a hot day. Because, you see, it is 90% hills of a grade so steep, they actually require runaway truck ramps on the sides of the roads. Okay, that is hyperbole, but the hills are bitches, OK?

We’ve had zoo passes most of the last four years. And yet today I discovered new areas of the zoo I had never been to. Actually, that is only half true. One area is relatively new, and I had never been there. The other I had simply erased from my memory since I have not visited that part of the zoo in 15 or 20 years.

I have this memory of being three or four years old at the zoo with my father. He lifted me up and the walls were probably 10 feet high. Over the side of the walls was a drop of about 20 feet and inside this small enclosure were many writhing alligators piled on top of each other. I was terrified.

Needless to say, my preschool perception was not, technically, correct.

I do remember the Galapagos tortoises, though. Fondly.

Sometimes as we drive we sing variations on the “If You’re Happy and You Know It” song to keep the toddler awake. Today (directly after camp) it was, “If you have a nose and you know it touch your nose!” And my darling daughter announced to me, “I don’t want to touch my nose, though, because my hands are really dirty and smell bad.

This week has been very hard on me. Getting the house ready and lunch made and kids dressed in the morning in time to be somewhere is not my forte. I would be a very disorganized public school mom. Oh, who am I kidding? I’m a very disorganized homeschooling mom. Just one who does not have to be anywhere so early so it’s less noticeable.

Anyway, it’s hot. I’m utterly exhausted. The house is a disaster. Flylady can kiss my ass. And I am a bad person because I came upon a car accident yesterday and it amused me so much I actually photographed it. As Melissa said, the car looks so gracefully sideways, as though someone carefully placed it there. *hides from karma*

Disjointed much?

This one amuses me:
128290506874183750landahoy.jpg

Actions

Information

One response

17 08 2007
Amesie

I cracked up at that LOLcat pic the other day. I love that site. As for the car pic, well, I’d do the same thing! The vehicle looks like it was just gently placed there that way. Or perhaps just beamed down from space, right in that spot.

Leave a Reply

