So… What would YOU do?

7 03 2007

Someone shot me an e-mail thriugh SOAM requesting me to “speak” at Blogher this year. I’m both intrigued and terrified at the very thought. She assured me the “speaking” was more in front of a panel and not like a speech. But I’m not sure if that’s better or worse. I don’t think well on my feet, what if they expect me to sound intellegent or something crazy like that?? She did, however, mention that speakers don’t pay for the conference and travel expenses might be partially covered (not to mention I believe I can write the rest off as “business” yeah?). And there’s child care.

But… What would I say? What would I “speak” about? Would I bring both kids or just the little one? Each one would cost a bunch extra in plane tickets and, you know, food. If I bring just the little one, what if we die in a firey plane crash? If I go by myself what if I die in a firey plane crash? For some reason it’s a less scary idea to die with both children b/c, see, I’m the only one I really trust to care for them. But that’s a different entry.

WWYD? Topic suggestions welcome. Plagarism may be involved on my end. Don’t say I didn’t warn ya. 😉

Actions

Information

7 responses

7 03 2007
Elaine

Hey, I may be going as well (under a similar offer) but won’t know until the end of the month.

GO. It’ll be great fun. And don’t take any kids you don’t have to. We’ll need to party like it’s 1999.

7 03 2007
zebrabelly

Party like it’s 1999? Does that mean stocking up on toilet paper and pulling all my money out of the bank?

7 03 2007
Elaine

think Prince, not Y2K

although you can never have too much TP.

7 03 2007
zebrabelly

OK, now I have to clarify here that I DO know the Prince song. But Y2K is way funnier.

8 03 2007
lola coca-cola

Oh, you will have so much fun, go! And Elaine is right, only take children who absolutely need to go. You deserve a break.

8 03 2007
krystyn

I feel for you. I’m doing a panel at BlogHer Business this month… although it’s more of a one-on-one ‘Ask The Experts’ type of thing. And I was given my topic by BlogHer. But I’m still completely nervous.

What if you spoke about the good experiences you’ve had through blogging? Friends you’ve made, sage advice you’ve received, support during rough times, etc. Warm fuzzies and all that. Just a suggestion. 🙂

8 03 2007
Daph

No suggestions, but high-five, momma! That is super! I hope you go and have a blast – either Prince or Y2K style, whatever floats your boat. 🙂

Leave a Reply

