Crapola

6 03 2007

How long, exactly, does a building have before termites eat it alive? Word on the street is that the walls and floors are made of concrete. Does that help at all? This May it will have been THREE YEARS since my landlord originally told me he’d be tenting “in a couple of months”.

I’ve lived in this complex most of my life, actually. I’m used to this guy. He’s really bad about getting to stuff on time. And he says crazy stuff like “Spiders don’t come in windows” when I ask him to fix normal stuff like bent screen frames.

He’s also incredibly condescending and speaks to me like I don’t know what I’m talking about. I can’t figure out if it’s a sexist thing because I am a woman, or if it’s because I’m a tennant, or if it’s just his way of trying to get out of doing any actual work.

A few weeks ago, I had the Adventure Bathroom, right? Well, the waterfall apparently came back today. And? Brought a friend: The leaky kitchen! But this just freaks me right out because it’s not near any water. It’s the STOVE. There is water leaking in the vent above my stove. This must be Very, Very Bad, right? Oy shit.

I’ve put up with all this crap this long because I feel safe here and because the rent is really, really reasonable. Or so I thought. I lost my tempter today and began looking online at rental ads and found a few not too much more than this one. Probably smaller. Possibly more ghetto. But maybe worth looking into.

I so do not want to move. But at the same time, I don’t want my neighbor to land on me when I’m not expecing it. Perhaps if I was excpeting it, it wouldn’t be so bad?

Actions

Information

2 responses

7 03 2007
Amy

If your neighbor landed on you in your bathroom, now that would REALLY be Adventure Bathroom.

8 03 2007
Vickii

Hmm. Well, is your neighbor cute, and can he cook?

And if you do not accept the totally cool invite to BlogHer, I will not speak to you for…um..a really long time, and I swear I won’t even read your blog for…for…a…while.

Leave a Reply

