Blogging

28 08 2006

I’ve not been much in the mood to actually BLOG these days. Thoughts constantly running through my head, but much of it is the same old boring shit and the rest of it gets forgotten when I actually have two hands with which to type. So I’ll give you a quick rundown of our week.

Last week, the kids and I started swimming lessons. I’m really proud of M for being brave enough to put her head all the way in the water! She may not be swimming yet, but she’s obviously comfortable in the water. E has a blast with the splashing. That boy is a fan of water like none I have seen before. M’s class does this thing where they all hold onto each others’ shoulders and say “Chugga, chugga! CHOO! CHOO!” The thing about that is that when I was her age and I took the same swimming class at the same pool, they had US do the same thing. It’s cute and bizarre all at once.

Today was M’s last ballet class of the term and we’re trying to move her into level two starting in the fall – we’ll know for sure once financial aid is approved and we register. I proud of how far she’s come there, too. A year ago she was pretty much just dancing with herself in the mirror, now she’s teaching me things like “tendu“. I hope this class helps her grow more.

And, while I’m on the subject of M Brags, here’s one more.

My baby this weekend had a fever. Strange, this is the third fever he’s had this year that came with no other symptoms. I have to say – and it probably sounds awful – I love holding a fevered babe. Don’t get me wrong, I hate it when they are sick, but there’s something deeply sweet about a firey little hand reaching up to stroke your cheek (or, more correctly, to shove a finger into your nose) while nursing.

I’ve been knitting and I’m almost done with this hat. It doesn’t look hard, but it is KICKING MY ASS. Those earflaps? Yeah, decreasing in seed stictch and getting it to LOOK good is not a simple thing. And I cannot, for the life of me, figure out how to pick up stitches in the MIDDLE of a garment to start on the stinkin’ ears. the good news is that I finished M’s shrug which matches her hat and it’s pretty dang cute if I do say so myself. It’s not bad, anyway, for something I just made up off the top of my head.

What else? Oh, I’ve been carrying Jack Sparrow wherever I go. Nice to have a pocket-pirate. And yesterday, I must confess, I broke down and bought some Nestle coffee creamer. Believe me, my morals are suffering and I am ashamed. But… but… they have this coconut creme flavor and, well, probably I’d sell my kids for coconut flavored something, so really buying one little thing of Nestle isn’t so bad is it? (And if you happened by the rec center last week and saw that can of NesTea in my hand I will SWEAR to you that it was a mistake. Possibly the dumbest mistake EVER – d’oh! – but a mistake nonetheless!)

Lastly, I’ll leave you with this image – my husband’s getting the baby hooked on the Lost ARG already!

Actions

Information

2 responses

29 08 2006
Amy

Avocado drinks that coconut creme coffee creamer straight. Like, not in coffee or anything. He is a nut.

29 08 2006
The Shape of a Mother

Dude. Don’t TEMPT me.

Leave a Reply

