Switchel: An Old Timey Drink Recipe

2 08 2012

switchel

I originally came across this recipe last summer but it took me this long to get around to making it. Probably because I lived on Starbucks Mochas last year, but this summer I can’t have coffee (more on those food allergies I probably won’t ever blog about) so I’m looking for other drinks to fill the void. I’m sure the fact that it took me a whole year has nothing whatsoever to do with my Lazy. *cough*

This drink has a lot of sugar in it, but I used raw honey and raw cider vinegar and those on top of the molasses make me feel like all the nutrition and raw-ness are worth the sugar. In other words, I practically HAVE to drink this. Like. For my HEALTH.

I had to cut the original recipe in half because I wasn’t sure I was going to like it. But I did! I still won’t make all that, though, because there just aren’t enough of us to drink that much. And since it’s really super easy to make (even for a Lazy like me), it’s not a problem to make it more often if I need to. I also had to cut out the ginger (because see above about the food allergies) and I bet ginger would have made it pop a little bit more, but in return I added a little extra vinegar and it’s really good.

1/4 cup + some extra raw apple cider vinegar (yes vinegar)
1/8 cup molasses
1/2 cup raw honey
water to fill a mason jar

I mixed all that up and put it in the fridge to cool. And then I let it sit there for while because, frankly, it doesn’t look appetizing. But I gathered my courage today and tried it and loved it. Margie did, too. I can’t wait to try it warm in the winter!

switchel


Actions

Information

3 responses

4 08 2012
greencardgirly (@greencardgirly)

Fun Fact: The ancient Romans used to drink vinegar-water mixes. Once, I wore a toga and manned a booth giving out shots of the stuff. Ah, high school… I was so uncool back then.

6 08 2012
bethany actually

Innnnteresting. Intriguing, even! The ginger part makes me actually want to try this. (You can’t have ginger? That’s so sad. I’m sorry.)

6 08 2012
bethany actually

Also, I’m so impressed that Margie tried this. I don’t think you could have paid me enough to try this when I was her age.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

