Avocado Fries – STAT

26 07 2012

avocado fries

I happened across a recipe tonight for avocado fries and thought to myself, “Self? YOU NEED TO EAT THOSE. RIGHT NOW.” Only the recipe called for breadcrumbs (gluten) and frying (too messy – I’m lazy as hell) so I decided to just make up my own recipe on the spot. I do this from time to time and usually the food is edible (and by “edible” I mean “I’ll eat pretty much anything you put in front of me”), but tonight’s experiment was AWESOME. It was simple, healthy, grain-free, and fast. This is a good recipe for anyone who’s lazy as hell (like me).

Almond flour (approximately 1/2 C per avocado? I don’t know, I don’t measure anything)
Onion powder & salt to taste

Mix those together. Slice the avocado and gently dredge each piece in the almond flour mixture. Lay on a silpat or parchment paper and spray with oil (I use sunflower in a mister because that’s the kind of oil we are allowed to eat what with our 150 food allergies*). Bake at 400 degrees for maybe 15 minutes (also, I don’t time anything), turn once during baking.

That’s it. Easy and super delicious.

*Which I haven’t blogged about yet. But I will. Probably. Maybe.

Actions

Information

10 responses

26 07 2012
bethany actually

Ooooh, you had me at “nut-encrusted.” I wonder if finely-ground pecans would work?

26 07 2012
ZebraBelly

I bet they would. :)

27 07 2012
Annika

I am pinning the heck out of this.

29 07 2012
Sarah

One day I’m going to have to come to SoCal and find out what avocados really taste like, because based on the ones I’ve tried here I don’t get what all the fuss is about, so I think I might be missing something.

1 08 2012
Christine K

How firm were your avocados? (snicker, snicker)

1 08 2012
ZebraBelly

They were… Perfect? That’s a measure of avocado ripeness, right? Heh. I would have thought that firmer ones would be easier to work with, but I didn’t have any so I just used ones that were *just* ripe and they worked just fine.

1 08 2012
greencardgirly (@greencardgirly)

I’m putting avocados on my shopping list.
(Also, if you can see this comment, I have managed to trick wordpress into letting me comment on your blog. IF SO: Take that, universe!!!)

1 08 2012
ZebraBelly

(Lordy. Don’t mock the Universe. KNOCK WOOD, Universe!)

4 08 2012
greencardgirly (@greencardgirly)

Wood was knocked. Phew.

5 08 2012
vivilinh

amazing amazing idea!! and baked too!!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

