Weird Hippie Food

21 01 2012

Between needing to avoid gluten and personally believing in a traditional-foods based diet, I am always on the lookout for weird hippie food. Food that’s stuffed with nutrition and low in sugar. I like to eat healthy, but I also like to eat deliciously. Recently I’ve tried a few new recipes I wanted to share with you.

It started with some almond flour muffins that Elliott really likes. It is so hard to make that child a muffin he likes that has some actual nutrition in it. So score for Elana’s Pantry. (FTR, I always sub agave for honey.)

Later in the week I decided I wanted to make some avocado-based chocolate mousse. I’ve heard of such a thing and had it in mind for a long time, but had never actually done it. Strangely, and probably because the world revolves around me*, the first entry when I Googled for a recipe was from a woman I’ve met at playgroups a few times, years ago. In her entry she suggests using it as a frosting so I totally whipped up another batch of muffins and frosted those bad boys.

weird hippie food

Actually, I only frosted this one because, in Margie’s words, “This mousse takes like your breakfast shakes.” With a very clear emphasis of distaste on the latter part of that sentence. Fine. More for me.

weird hippie food

And maybe I should say here that I’m really not very picky. (Except for seafood.) So I liked it, although I definitely think it’s not your average frosting. Maybe if it was a little sweeter. Or had no avocado. But then you can’t have green veggies** on your cake so it sort of defeats the hippie part.

Ever since joining Pinterest, I’ve been taunted with mug cakes. I don’t have a microwave so I thought I couldn’t play this game. But then, a few months ago, Sonja sent me a mug cake mix that totally said, “Hey, stupid, use your toaster oven.” Only maybe the package worded it a little more nicely. So I’ve spent the last weeks trying to find the perfect hippie gluten-free mug cake. And here it is. (Hint: It tastes best served with Doctor Who: Scene It, but you may skip that step.)

Happy Thing: Mug Cake & Scene It Doctor Who

Weird Hippie Gluten-Free Mug Cake

1Tbs Coconut Flour
2Tbs Cocoa Powder
4Tbs Sweetener (I use whatever mix of sugar, rapadura, or coconut sugar that I fancy at the moment. Sometimes I use less)
1Tbs Oil
3-4Tbs Milk (I use coconut or rice or whatever I have open)

Mix, bake at 350 for about 20-25 minutes. Done!

So, yeah. Who wants to come over and play Doctor Who: Scene It?

game pieces

*I have proof.
**If it’s green, it’s a veggie. Dammit.

Actions

Information

4 responses

21 01 2012
bethany actually

I do!

I am right this minute eating a mug coffee cake.

21 01 2012
Averie @ Love Veggies and Yoga

Glad you tried the mousse as frosting..you can always add more sugar or sweetener to the next batch if you’re ever inclined to try again.

I love things really sweet, especially if used as frosting, so I personally go very heavy handed on the agave in this recipe :)

22 01 2012
ashleysusanna

I am so jealous of your Scene it game.

The recipe looks delicious. Thanks for sharing!

23 01 2012
Jen

So, in your world, kiwi = veggie. Lime jello = veggie. Hell, lime anything? Veggie. This means my favorite key lime pie is STUFFED WITH VEGGIES. Thank you, Ma’am. You’ve just made my world so much better.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

