I don’t think I’ve added November’s Tweets yet, have I?

11 12 2011

Time spent filling out government forms: 10 minutes. Time spent trying to make my printer print said forms: 40 minutes. Just not right.
1 Nov

It’s perfectly natural to have the intense desire to stab your printer in the face, right? Perfectly. Natural.
1 Nov

Wow. At Five Guys you get ALL THE FREE PEANUTS YOU WANT. Awesome.
1 Nov

Margie, after a lengthy conversation with her brother: And anyway, I’m never talking to you again, remember?
2 Nov

Is it weird that my bank (not a credit union) is trying to get in on Bank Transfer Day action? They totally are not invited to this party.
3 Nov

Elliott’s joke: Why did Elliott not become a pirate? Because he was a bad pirate!
4 Nov

Elliott, chiming in on Margie’s request: Yeah! Let’s have Old Man Dinner! … What’s Old Man Dinner?
4 Nov

Elliott proposed to me today. I told him it wasn’t legal, but he found a loophole that says it’s OK for little kids.
4 Nov

At 5:30 this morning I decided once and for all that I hate my neighbors. 5. 30.
5 Nov

Wow. Goriest episode of Mad Men ever. #scarredforlife
6 Nov

You know they always say not to try dangerous stuff that professionals do, but, honestly, the professionals had to start somewhere.
6 Nov

Aw, @threadless, why you gotta have TWENTY THREE AWESOME Muppet shirts today when I’m in t-shirt rehab? *trying not to relapse*
9 Nov

Someone set the fence on fire. I hate my neighbors.
9 Nov

My house smells like cookies, but there are no cookies, but now I WANT THE COOKIES.
9 Nov

Living with Margie is like living with a lawyer. I have to make sure I cover all possible loopholes in every sentence I speak. #needcoffee
10 Nov

I hate when a dream ends and my brain just gets up and walks out of the theatre without even seeing if there’s more sleep after the credits.
11 Nov

Trying to totally organize the kids’ room is sending me into a panic attack. Wondering now why I recycled my mom’s Ativan. #kidding #mostly
12 Nov

is sitting in a building that was built almost 10 years ago, but is already celebrating its 15th anniversary. Srsly.
14 Nov

My son is having his speech therapy via video phone. It’s the future already.
15 Nov

Wow. Dayquil is awesome.
17 Nov

I just got $170 worth of stuff for $36 at Old Navy. BOW TO ME.
18 Nov

“You’ve got healthcare bring run by private business. And believe me, that’s just the start of your problems.” -Torchwood, Miracle Day <-YES
19 Nov

Isn't it enough to know that I ruined a pony making a gift for you? <–Best song lyric ever.
20 Nov

Wow. That show ended with a giant, angry vagina. (Spoilers!)
20 Nov

Me: You guys are being obnoxious. Elliott: But that's because we are kids! Me: Touché, dude. Touché.
21 Nov

I hate to break it to Timon and Pumbaa, but their Hakuna Matata craze sort of did pass, actually.
23 Nov

You really can't tell how tiny Daniel Radcliffe is until he's in a lineup of average-sized guys. #MacysThanksgivingParade
24 Nov

Thanksgiving weekend is the only time I ever miss having a microwave. 20 minutes for leftover stuffing with gravy is just unreasonable.
25 Nov

It's the kind of winter day where I'm going to go snuggle down by the Yule tree in shorts with the fan on high.
28 Nov





In which Madeleine L’Engle doesn’t help me write this post at all.

11 12 2011

In what ways are you like your mother? And if you’re a mother, how is/are your kid(s) like you?Jessica

My mother was funny and charming and creative. And she had hazel green eyes. I think I inherited those qualities. Except the eyes, which are more a “body part” and less a “quality.” Although I did inherit them. Which actually makes me a little bit like Harry Potter in that I look like my dad except for my eyes. I’m not so good at flying on broomsticks, though. Only now I’ve forgotten what I was saying.

Oh right.

She also loved me fiercely, respected me deeply, and followed a lot of what we now call attachment parenting – all things I try to replicate in my parenting. I’ve said before I think her love and respect are what saved my sanity and kept me strong enough to grow through and beyond all the shit. I hope to give the same for my kids, along with a more solid foundation so they can grow even beyonder. Which is what we want for our children no matter what, right? Beyonder. Autocorrect keeps trying to change that to “be yonder” which is pretty deep, actually, and makes me wonder if Madeleine L’Engle is helping to write this post. She always did rethink words like that. Except I think she started with real words, not made up ones. Whatever.

Although I bet if Madeleine L’Engle was helping to write this post, it would have been a lot less disjointed. And also maybe had a proper ending. Thanks a lot, Madeleine L’Engle.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers