Stuff I Became Obsessed With, Part III

10 12 2011

Cause you know what I didn’t mention last time? Babysitter’s Club Books.

Oh, by the way, this is yesterday’s prompt. See? What was your favorite children’s book?Niki

Naturally, I had a lot of favorite books over a long childhood, and one of my first choices was to write about The Monster at the End of this Book because it’s still one of my favorites, but A) I just wrote about Muppets, B) everyone else seems to be writing about that one, and C) I’ve forgotten what my third point was, but I’m sure I had one.

So the next book that came to mind was The Ghost at Dawn’s House.

I read my first BSC book at a time when my life was probably getting quite hard. It was fourth grade, probably sometime after my mom lost her job and sanity. The first time I read one I was hooked. These girls had strong and deep friendships, they were responsible and smart and funny, and they lived normal lives. And so I read all of them. And then Ann M. Martin wrote more so I read those, too. And I read all of them many, many times. But none so much as The Ghost at Dawn’s House. It was my first ghost story and it was so scary (not so much it’ll make it into my list of Shit That Scares Me). I read that book until the pages started falling out. And, honestly, I have nothing much more to say about it now that I’m an adult because it’s kind of terrible. All those books are kind of terrible. I’ve tried rereading them. It hurts too much.

I should have written about Deenie instead.

But it was the BSC I was obsessed with. I remember somehow acquiring a map of Stoneybrook, the neighborhood they lived in, and pouring over it, wishing so much I lived there. To this day I can name you all of the Pike kids, quote you some jokes (“Let’s get them!” “Pimples?”), or tell you about the time they got stranded on an island. I even still want to go on a Disney World cruise someday, all because of the BSC. They got me through a hard time in my life, those fictional friends of mine. And they set the stage for a lifetime of fictional relationships, apparently.


Actions

Information

2 responses

10 12 2011
Claire

Harriet the Spy. That is all.

10 12 2011
ZebraBelly

I totally learned about Harriet the Spy from the BSC.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

