Obsessed with the Doctor

26 04 2011

Happy Thing: Lego Dr. Who

Like tweenager-style obsessed. Like I’m-embarrassed-to-say how obsessed. I knew I’d like Doctor Who but I was utterly unprepared for how deeply it would get into my head. I don’t think a show’s taken hold of my mind like this since Lost and I can’t think of one before that. (Although the Hitchhiker’s Guide books did in high school.) (Which is just another reason I marvel at the fact that it took me so long to discover my inner geek. But that’s another post.)

Happy Thing: TARDIS

This show’s been on my to-watch list for years and I was aware of the basics of the show. I knew what Daleks are and what the TARDIS is. And I knew that David Tennant was generally considered the favorite doctor so I was looking forward to meeting him, but I also didn’t know how very deeply I’d fall in love with him. This is partly because he is exactly my type in terms of hot guys, but even more so because he is completely awesome in pretty much every way. And when I realized he’s only the Doctor for three seasons (of which I’ve already watched two) I started getting panicky. And angry. WHY WOULD THEY DO THIS TO ME? And how will I be able to move on with my life once the tenth doctor is gone? Last night a friend described saying goodbye to Tennant as “traumatic”. YES. She also went on to say she grew to love Matt Smith so there’s hope. But it’s just such a tiny, tiny bit of hope at the moment.

I’ve stopped just before the fourth series begins. Partly because I felt the need to reread Starship Titanic before the episode in which there is well, a Starship Titanic. But also because I am afraid that once I begin the season, I might not have the self control to savor it.

it's bigger on the inside

So for now I’m rewatching old episodes. Both of the revived show and of the older ones. The kids have watched some with me hence the Lego creations. The episodes I like best (“The Empty Child” & “Blink” are among them) hold up to several viewings, and, although the show isn’t as deep or literary as Lost was* (on the other hand, it’s also far less scattered and directionless than Lost turned out to be) (rather like this paragraph), it certainly has multiple layers and complex characters and possibly better makeup than Lost ever bothered with. And someday, I’ll be brave enough to plunge into the next series. But if I fall apart completely when Tennant leaves, will you please take care of my kids for me?

*I totally take it back. As it goes on and as I get deeper into it, I find it to be really complex, intelligent and beautiful.

Actions

Information

37 responses

26 04 2011
Corey

LOL @ who will take care of your kids. I will! Me! Me!

We are watching the ’64’s as I type.

26 04 2011
Corey

Rob, looking at your Legos from across the room, “That’s Dr. Who.” Me, “How did you KNOW?!” Him, “‘Cause that’s a TARDIS>” Like, duh.

26 04 2011
ZebraBelly

LIKE.

27 04 2011
Sarah

I’ve never watched an episode. Not out of any great anti-Doctor feeling, it’s just never tickled my fancy. On the basis of that deleted clip though, I am considering changing my name to Martha and watching the “you – don’t let me abandon you” part over and over again.

27 04 2011
ZebraBelly

Pretty much, yeah.

27 04 2011
bethany actually

I think you will be happy with the way the series said good-bye to Tennant. It’s awesomely epic and he gets a happy and tragic ending all at the same time; it’s fairly wonderful.

If you have not started the fourth series yet, that means you have not yet learned of the wonder that is Companion Donna Noble! Well, you met her in The Runaway Bride, but you have not seen her in real action yet. She is by far my favorite companion. I think you’ll love her too.

Also, my mom felt the same way about Tennant that you do, embarrasingly-tweenagerish crush and all. She was sure she could never love another Doctor as much as she loved him. But she is a huge fan of Matt Smith as the Doctor. So the hope is slightly larger than tiny. :-)

You might be interested in reading the recaps of ‘Doctor Who’ on TWOP, if you have not discovered those yet. (I found then when I was going through my own phase of obsession with all things Doctor.) They’re pretty delicious reading.

Finally, to while away the time until you’re ready to embark on the 4th series, you might want to look into the BBC’s new series ‘Sherlock’. Benedict Cumberbatch’s Sherlock Holmes might be right up your alley. The show was created and produced by Stephen Moffat and Mark Gatiss. Moffat wrote some of the most-beloved Tennant ‘Who’ episodes including ‘The Empty Child/The Doctor Dances’, ‘Blink’ and ‘The Girl in the Fireplace’, and since Russell T. Davies left the show with Tennant, he’s the new showrunner as well. Gatiss has written several episodes of ‘Who’ and appeared in ‘The Lazarus Experiment’ as Dr. Lazarus, making him one of only three people to both write for and act in that show.

Yes, I am embarrassingly-well-versed in Whovian trivia. I had to do SOMETHING to fill the gap between seasons.

27 04 2011
ZebraBelly

Oh I can’t wait to get to know Donna better. The little I’ve seen of her (and what you’ve said) leaves no doubt that she’ll be my favorite, too.

Normally, I’m really opposed to Sherlock Holmes. I hate mysteries. Unless I’m reading/watching them. which is how I used to feel about Sci Fi so I’m been wondering if I’m wrong about that. But I LOVED the Robert Downey Jr movie and I’ve been interested in watching the BBC Sherlock, too, so I’ll give it a go. Can I catch up online? (For that matter can can I catch up on current seasons of Doctor Who online?)

ALSO: What’s TWOP? I think I need to go to there.

27 04 2011
bethany actually

Television Without Pity: Spare the Snark, Spoil the Networks.

http://www.televisionwithoutpity.com/

27 04 2011
Chris Radcliff

If you need someone to do post-Tennant group therapy with, I volunteer K. I’d be happy to watch the kids while you two work through the grief. Just sayin’.

Also: we may know where you can get Sherlock (and Who) episodes. Knock twice and tell us the internet fairies sent you.

27 04 2011
ZebraBelly

The internet fairies totally sent me.

28 04 2011
Chris Radcliff

I’m just gonna leave some discs on this shelf here. If K happens to have them when she visits you, who’s to say where they came from?

28 04 2011
ZebraBelly

Discs? What discs? ;)

27 04 2011
Chris Radcliff

Oh, and thanks for sharing that youtube clip. Hilarious!

27 04 2011
Karen

What Bethany said. And Chris. I’m still in mourning for Tennant, though Matt Smith is growing on me in a kind of he’s-the-Doctor-but-not-my-Doctor way. Dear lord, I sound like Mary Jane Smith. (RIP Elisabeth Sladen, sigh.) If you ever want some Doctor Who viewing companionship, just let me know. But don’t mind if I hide during the scary parts in Blink.

27 04 2011
ZebraBelly

We can shove the kids in the bedroom and watch it all Friday afternoon, yeah? Or I guess we can do it other times, but either way YES PLEASE. I’m so sick of laughing at all the jokes by myself. I totally caught that Lion King song before he even said so, and there was no one to congratulate me.

27 04 2011
ZebraBelly

Woah, that sounds way more lonely than I feel. Huh.

Even so. I want the congrats.

7 05 2011
bethany actually

OMG, that is bar none one of the funniest moments in any episode of Doctor Who, when he realizes he’s quoting the Lion King and then says, “Well, the point still stands!” Sigh. Okay, I resist admitting it because Tennant is EVERYONE’S favorite Doctor and I hate going along with the crowd, but…he’s everyone’s favorite for a reason. He was AWESOME.

7 05 2011
bethany actually

(Oh, and congrats!)

27 04 2011
Jen

When I was a kid, my Dad loved this show. We used to sit and watch marathons of it together. All I can remember was thinking how cheesy it was. But this was back in the 80’s when cheesy was king. I’ve never watched an episode since but every where I turn someone is bringing it up lately. My Dad would laugh at how popular this show is these days.

28 04 2011
Kuky

I loved the Blink episode. When I first watched it, I wanted to make a “the angels have the phone box” t-shirt. :-D

And I’m watching that episode right now. Not as in what a coincidence sort of thing but more like once you mentioned it I decided that I desperately needed to watch it right now while I was writing my comment.

And I loved David Tennant as the doctor. I was quite peeved when I saw the pictures of Matt Smith before I watched him. Not happy at all. But Matt Smith didn’t need to grow on me. He won me over in his very first episode.

29 04 2011
ZebraBelly

I need to rewatch that one, I haven’t yet. Maybe a little bit because the day after I saw it I quite literally startled when I saw a garden statue looming over me at Costco.

7 05 2011
bethany actually

Kuky, he won me over too! Fish sticks and custard, how could you not love that!? :-)

7 05 2011
ZebraBelly

I don’t think anyone can win me over with fish sticks. The bow tie’s more likely. OK, the bow tie’s way more likely.

7 05 2011
bethany actually

(Yes, I am going through your blog and responding to old posts about geek stuff. What of it!?)

7 05 2011
bethany actually

Trust me. He’ll win you over with fish sticks. I wouldn’t have believed it either. And he didn’t even have the bow tie on at the time!

9 05 2011
Holly

1. I’ll take your kids if you can’t handle saying goodbye to Tennant…or, ya know, for any other reason…:D

2. Moire’s been drawing sidewalk chalk creations of the TARDIS and the rhino people from the first episode with Martha Jones. I think it rocks that the new generation is already becoming well-versed in all things geeky and good.

3. The Empty Child and Blink were two of my favorite episodes…I was quote interested to hear that the writer of those episodes was taking over the series. I feel like he has a good feel for where the doctor is coming from and where he should be going. (I can’t wait to see the Neil Gaimans episode.)

4. I’m only on series 3, so I’m woefully behind. :(

5. Does anyone else feel the need to watch Harry Potter after episodes of the tenth doctor? No? Just me then, ok…

6. Is anyone else perturbed that the Doctor just keeps getting younger with each regeneration? He needs to come back as Ian McKellan or something!

9 05 2011
ZebraBelly

I TOTALLY REWATCHED HARRY POTTER. It was disturbing. I rather regretted it. I also rewatched the scenes from Heroes with Eccleston. Less disturbing. Death eaters, sadly, just aren’t hot. Invisible men are more so. I mean. When they are visible. The weird thing that I really don’t understand is that I’m not finding David Tennant himself very hot (despite the Scottish accent). I don’t comprehend the reasons behind this, but I suspect that it has something to do with the TARDIS being just the sexiest time machine ever. I may or may not be completely insane.

9 05 2011
Holly

I also didn’t find Tennant hot in HP…I think it was the weird snake-thing he did with his tongue, and the crazy in his eyes. I mean, sometimes crazy is ok…*I’m* crazy, and it’s ok…but his was the kind of crazy where you think he could be thinking of ways to surreptiously stab you in the leg with a dull spork or something…Not hot.

I totally forgot Ecclesteson was in Heroes…and since he was not my favorite doctor and I didn’t like Heroes, I’m not going to revisit that show.

I never thought of the TARDIS as sexy…but hmm…I think I see it! :D

9 05 2011
ZebraBelly

I cannot explain myself other than to say you know how some people think sports cars or jets are sexy? Well apparently I’m more into police boxes.

9 05 2011
Holly

And this is why I love you. <3

13 05 2011
this is why i am tired « Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] this is why i am tired 13 05 2011 Last week: Tuesday, 5:30PM~ Someone FROM THE FREAKING TODAY SHOW called me and asked me to FLY TO NEW YORK the following Thursday TO BE ON NATIONAL TELEVISION. LIVE. ZOMGWTFPOLARBEAR!!1!!! *dies and is ded* Tuesday, 8:30PM~ (These Today Show people keep crazy hours) I get an email asking if I can come sooner so I can film a spot in addition to the live show. Wednesday, some point in the day which I have now forgotten~ I’m told I won’t be flying there after all, rather they’ll BE COMING TO MY HOUSE TO FILM ME HERE AND PUT MY LIVING ROOM ON NATIONAL TV. OMGWTF! *faints* (Slightly lesser response there, see?) Wednesday, all day~ I run around scrubbing the house and kids, spending my last $20 on a haircut, driving the kids to their various appointments normal to Wednesdays, hunting down moms who want to participate in the story and who meet the requirements of the Today Show staff, finishing up some loose ends requested by the Today Show, talking to my web host about making sure the servers can handle all the traffic, and generally stressing out a little bit. Thursday, two hours before news crews arrive~ I get a call saying no one is coming. *sigh* *dies. and is ded* The foreign news was too much that week to have room for a story on mama-bellies. Which made sense. I had wondered why they’d picked the week Osama Bin Laden was killed to invite me to New York. But it was also Mother’s Day so I thought that might have something to do with it. Friday~ Recover. Saturday~ Clean off the entire patio. Sunday~ Be in pain from Saturday. Also celebrate Mother’s Day. Monday~ Attempt to get back to regularly scheduled programming.  Fail. Look over the paperwork that needs to be done this month and turned into the county office. I haven’t mentioned this here yet, but we’re on food stamps. SPOILER ALERT! I’ve been meaning to blog about it but just haven’t found the time. Refer back to this entry for an example of why. Anyway. Discover the paperwork was actually due last week while I was not in New York. Do the math and realize I had exactly two days to get it completed and mailed and received since it arrived over a week after it was dated. The government is full of lying liars who lie. Call the office to see what can be done. Don’t get through. Spend ALL DAY LONG trying to get through. Feel foggy. Feel bitchy. Not all of this is from having to deal with the government. Part of it is a major case of PMS. Tuesday~ SPEND ALL DAY LONG TRYING TO GET THROUGH. Feel even more PMSy. Wednesday~ FINALLY GET THROUGH!! And remain on hold for one hour and forty minutes. No shit. ONE HOUR AND FORTY MINUTES. Finally give up because Elliott needs to be at an appointment. Feel menstrual. Very, very menstrual. Thursday~ Call again, speak to an operator, explain my case, get put on hold FOR FORTY MINUTES MORE. Get hung up on. Menstruate more. (Sorry, male readers.) Friday~ OH GLORY BE. Friday the 13th is here to make up for my Week o’ Thursdays. I not only get through and don’t even get put on hold, but I get my problem solved (turns out I actually had until Thursday and would have known that HAD I BEEN ABLE TO GET THROUGH) and spend exactly zero minutes in the office waiting for the paperwork I was told I’d have to wait for. WIN. Celebrate with Frappy Hour and some Doctor. […]

20 06 2011
7 Days: Day 3 (Pink) « Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] Facebook. Because it’s one thing (one utterly horrible thing) to know I’ll soon have to say goodbye to the 10th Doctor and another thing entirely to know that this show to which I have, essentially, married myself to […]

2 08 2011
Ten to Eleven « Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] so, after clinging desperately to season 4, savoring every episode and digging deep into the Story and Stories within it, I’ve moved on […]

10 12 2011
Stuff I Became Obsessed With, Part III « Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] a hard time in my life, those fictional friends of mine. And they set the stage for a lifetime of fictional relationships, apparently. Like this:LikeBe the first to like this […]

14 12 2011
Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] Who: Again, not really guilty, although really quite embarrassed (still) of how tweenie I am over this show. Still, when I think of what I can’t live a year without, […]

19 12 2011
Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] You mean besides the Doctor? (To marry and run away with, if you were […]

27 03 2012
I had this conversation with my kids today. « Z E B R A B E L L Y . C O M

[…] Elliott! Guess who I love! Kids: Us! Me: Oh. Well. Um. Yes! Of course. But I was going to say the Doctor.* Margie: Mo-om. Me: But you know I’d probably choose you over him. Margie: Oh, mom! I love […]

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

