Endings and Beginnings

9 03 2011

Happy Thing: Organization

I’m getting divorced.

After 10 years of marriage with many of them spent working extremely hard to make it work, it’s just not going to work. We can’t live together. I’m OK with this and looking forward to the future. I don’t know how he feels, but I’m sure there’s a level of relief on his part as well. The kids are sad but so far handling it fairly well – I suspect because they know their dad and I still get along and we’ll do many family things together and he’s not far (same building, actually) so they can see him often.

And now I’m weary of talking about it. It takes so much energy to tell people that I dread letting this news free on Facebook. And you know what? It’s not OK to make comments about my marriage. You (proverbial “you” not YOU, my readers) can’t offer me advice or imply I should try to make it work. You can’t tell me how marriage is hard and how you made yours work. I don’t honestly give a shit. You don’t know me. You don’t know him. You don’t know our history or what we’ve tried. So kindly shut the fuck up.

My new goal this year is to completely organize the house, make it free of chaos. For the first time, possibly ever, I have the ability to live in a clean home that stays organized (you know, aside from kid stuff). I am looking forward to that. The first thing I did was move the shoe rack out of the hallway and into a nook that used to hold a random chair that no one ever sat in. It’s so lovely to walk into the house and not trip over piles and piles of shoes.

And so the last thing left for my heart worry about is how I’ll make ends meet. I have some plans in the works, I only hope they pay off. Keep us in your thoughts please, OK?








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers