Earthquake on a Cliff

4 04 2010

Today my Photo Party friends and I went for a hike at Torrey Pines. It was a beautiful day full of sunshine, spring flowers, blue sky, and ocean breezes. And a big giant earthquake.

written in the sand

I have never before experienced a quake in the middle of Nature. And it was amazing. Scary, alarming, beautiful, exhilarating, fun, wild. And mostly what I thought was, are my babies OK? We all went through similar thought processes – first assuming the ground was moving beneath our feet for some benign reason, like being on the second floor at Ikea. And then we all just stared at each other, knowing with one glance, that this was much bigger. I sat down – it seemed the reasonable thing to do.  I also took note that I was not currently on the edge of a cliff and felt blessed for that. While part of my mind worried about things, and another part tried to keep the first part calm and not panicky, a third part of me connected to the Earth and felt, deeply, the circular motion the ground was carrying me in. Despite everything negative, I consider it a gift to have had that moment of communion with Nature.

earthquake!
I took this photo during the quake (it was a looong quake) – everyone stopped hiking, we all just talked about it and took in the moment together. To be honest, it didn’t feel as strong away from civilization as it probably did near or in buildings; we didn’t realize how big it was until we started checking Twitter on the way home.

ETA these photos, taken by Katie. What? I twittered during the quake. How else would the world know?

I realize this sounds very selfish since others have suffered to varying degrees from the same event; I have not forgotten to keep them in my thoughts.

On our hike down to the beach (did you know it’s all uphill on the way back? WTF?), I played a bit with the Harry Potter Camera. These are my favorite shots.

pine

daisies








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers