Lost, I Have Been – Catching Up and Randomness

8 11 2009

As I am driving or falling asleep, I often think of posts I want to share. And then in the rare moment I have to sit down and actually type, I have no energy in which to dig deep into myself for a post of any worth. This is frustrating to me because I want to keep a record of how I come to these things, of my emotional growth – and I have passed several steps here and there without writing it down. My memory isn’t well these days and I count on this blog to act as my pensieve for me, holding my memories for me so my brain can relax a bit. In fact, I have a bit of a headache at the moment which is blocking me from those deep thoughts.

But that’s OK, because I have something different, lighter, planned for you today. A simple sharing of recent events, links, and other things which have filled my mind and life in recent days.

Last weekend, we celebrated Samhain. You can read more on the homeschool blog, but I will post a few of my favorite photos here.

autumn sky

incense

stalking you

Next week is Sesame Street’s 40th birthday. And if you know anything about me, you’ll know that I am a big fan of Jim Henson. The man was a genius. He made things real for kids – not too sugar-sweet – and he dealt with big issues in a way that met the maturity level of the kids without sacrificing respect for their intelligence. Sesame street has been celebrated all over the media this week. Fresh Air did a one-hour piece compiled of old interviews with important Muppet-related people such as Frank Oz. Cake Wrecks has featured both wrecks and sweets. I even found this cool spot from the Emmys three years ago on Carroll Spinney. I hear Sesame Street is changing their format again – I really find this sad, but at least I have the Old School DVDs which come complete with the most fantastically-trippy bits like this one and my favorite ever, “Plants Need Water, Man.”

On a sort-of Muppet-related note, this is my new favorite video that’s been circling the internet. I love it when someone gets YouTube-Famous for actually having put effort and talent into something. Totally kid-safe, IMO.

Lastly, I’ll add that I just bought tickets to my very first concert since having children. In June of 2001 Alex and I went to the Warped Tour to see Me First and the Gimme Gimmes and in a little over a week, we’re going to see They Might Be Giants. I’ve been a TMBG fan since I was 14 or 15 and saw them once, 11 years ago. I can’t wait to see them again! It’s funny to me because the venue e-mailed me the tickets to print out myself. The last time I went to a concert, it was illegal to print your own tickets. Who knew?

Be back soon with Tweets for you, if nothing else.

Actions

Information

2 responses

8 11 2009
bethany actually

To borrow a phrase, OMB! You get to go see They Might Be Giants in concert, that is awesome! :-)

Miss you guys, hope we get to see you soon!

8 11 2009
Sarah

I wasn’t going to click on the YouTube guy, but I’m so glad I did! What a great video. I shall forward it to my brother, even though he’s probably already seen it. I think he has to sign off on anything posted to the internet before we all get to see it.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

