Close Your Eyes

21 10 2009

My son doesn’t like to look at poop. He has come up with an ingenious technique for dealing with this: he closes his eyes. He keeps them closed as he gets off the potty, hangs up his tiny seat and flushes. It’s terribly cute and funny. Today, as I went in to wipe his butt, he told me I should close my eyes.

“Oh, but I can’t because I need to make sure your butt is clean.”

“You LIKE to look at poop?”

“Well… no.”

“Well, then. Close your eyes.” (I can almost hear the “dumbass” that should follow that statement.)

Bonus question: How old were your kids when you stopped wiping them? I figure I have at least six months from potty training (last June) before I begin that next step.


Actions

Information

6 responses

21 10 2009
Corey

ROFLMAO! I love that kid.

Rhetta was about a year into using the potty on her own when she started wiping herself – so 5 years old. She doesn’t wipe herself anyMORE, but that’s a whole other thing.

Willon still shows no interest in using the potty, any potty.

21 10 2009
Jess

Jaina would only wipe herself with flushable wipes, no regular TP, until this year!

Jayce still gets a pull-up when its time to poop. He says that if he poops in the potty, it will smell bad. He does not understand that it smells much worse sitting in his pull-up!

21 10 2009
ZebraBelly

Oh, Hell, *I* use flushable wipes instead of TP – SO much cleaner! In fact, I carry some in my purse for when we are out. LOL

23 10 2009
Wendy

I’m still wiping Adam. He’s a messy pooper. But I know it’s time to stop, if that helps.

4 11 2009
Jenny

I hate to admit this, but I still wipe Solana most of the time. She *can* do it, but whines and moans about it, so I usually do it for her. She’s terrible afraid she’ll miss some.

I think Jonas will be wiping himself before she will. :(

21 11 2009
bethany actually

Don’t ask why I’m back at this entry, but…Annalie has just now, at 5.5 years old, a full THREE YEARS after potty-training, been wiping her own self. It took me this long to convince her to try! I keep telling her that by the time she’s 6, she’s gonna be on her own.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

