Annoy.

25 06 2008

Last night we went to the public pool to swim only to be turned away because it was full. Not to the naked eye, though. To the naked eye it looked pretty darn empty. Apparently the budget cuts mean fewer lifeguards and fewer lifeguards mean fewer swimmers. The good news is that if we ever arrive early enough we know the pool won’t be too crowded. Nevertheless it was frustrating.

Today we tried to attend to storytime only to be told essentially the same thing. Yes, the library is also short on lifeguards. Because I am feeling proactive this week (stay tuned for my nasty letter to the grocery store) I wrote them a little note. And then because I am SO DAMN PROUD of it’s awesomeness, I had to save it here. Which means you have to read it. Enjoy. And then tell me who’s dumb? That’s right. The answer is President George W. Bush. I can trace any problem back to GWB. I am talented in that way.

To the Children’s Librarian and Staff,

I am a homeschooling mom of two, native to this community and a true CV’an at heart. My children and I have been attending storytimes and other programs regularly since my oldest was two years old. (In fact I grew up in this library and my grandma volunteered there when I was small so I have many fond memories myself.) We love the storytimes, and especially the Summer Reading program. From what I hear from my friends who live in other areas of the county, the CV libraries are some of the best over all and I am always proud to show off the awesome Children’s Room when our friends come. In short, we adore the library and all you do.

That is why we were disappointed today when we showed up 10 minutes early for the storytime and craft only to be told that it was already closed to any more children doing the crafts. I understand the limit of supplies – and I certainly think that supplies for 60 children is more than reasonable – but I think that if the budget does not allow for an additional storytime, then perhaps a note could have been posted on the website to arrive early?

We decided to stay to hear the stories anyway but there were only two stories told today and we had missed nearly all of the first one. The entire storytime was over before 2:00pm which was when it was supposed to start. My six year old was very disappointed and I was frustrated.

We will try coming early from now on to avoid this problem in the future.

Another thing I would like to address is the switch this year from number of books read to time spent reading for the Summer Reading Program. This change works well for my daughter, but it is very hard for my three-year-old to sit still for 15 minutes and I have a feeling he will not make it to the 6-hour mark that is required for a prize. He has already read more than 10 books, but at his reading level this amounts to less than one hour. I hope you consider switching back next year, or at the very least offering an alternative for the younger kids who don’t have the attention spans to read as much as their older siblings.

Thank you for your consideration into this. Thank you also for all you do for our community. You help to make CV my very favorite place to live.

I was tempted to write the pool a letter as well, telling them how I can solve all their problems (because, truly, I can), but then I became afraid that they would listen to me and post a note about arriving early and then everyone would read it and then we’d NEVER get in because instead of arriving 15 minutes early (which is do-able with small kids) we’d have to arrive an hour ahead of time (SO not do-able) and you know I decided maybe? they didn’t need me to solve their problems after all. (Also, I am very talented in the way of run-on sentences.)








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers