7 Days: Day 6 (Embrace the Flaky)

19 06 2008


7 Days: Day 6 (Embrace the Flaky)
Originally uploaded by zebrabelly.

Here is the story of my day:

There is a new branch of a church opening in my town and I’ve gotten myself on the RE (religious ed) committee. There was a meeting today up at the home church about 25 minutes north of here. I catch a woman I know on the way in and together we spot the director of RE, not in a meeting.

"Oh good!" I thought, "I’m not late after all! She’s only heading there now."

HA. Turns out the meeting was yesterday and not today at all.

"But surely," I thought, "They told me Thursday b/c THAT’S WHAT I WROTE ON MY CALENDAR."

HA. I had it written on Wednesday. Very clearly.

*sigh*

I hate that. Aside from the gas I wasted and the fact that the RE director had to spend another 45 minutes of her time going over notes with me (didn’t HAVE to, obviously, she’s just super nice), I am most upset with myself for being flaky. I am a flaky person and it DRIVES ME NUTS. I do my best to hide it and pretend I am totally on the ball 100% of the time.

There is a scene from an old episode of Friends (as opposed to the new episodes, you know) where Monica and Rachel accuse Phoebe of being flaky and she responds, "That’s true. I am flaky." She is completely comfortable with herself, no matter how flaky she is. I need to get to that point. Somehow. (The scene is here at about 2 min 45 sec)

Please tell me about a time when you completely missed an appointment or otherwise embarrassed yourself. Please?

Actions

Information

3 responses

19 06 2008
lola coca-cola

I’m normally not super flaky but lately…it’s been BAD.

I am about to blog my flakiness, it’s REALLY a good one.

19 06 2008
veganmomma

I once showed up to Athena’s dance class not having registered her. I felt pretty stupid when I started seeing different kids from her previous class and finally it hit me that this had to be a new class.

20 06 2008
Sonja

I’ll call you back later.
Or, you know, never. *sigh*

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers

