History Alive!

10 05 2008

I have a passion for local history. When the kids are older and I have extra time on my hands (hahahahahaha! I know…) I plan to become involved in the Historical Society. If I were to win the lottery and could afford to buy any place to live anywhere in the world, I would choose a historic home in my town (well, and a vacation home in Hawaii and a castle somewhere in the British Isles, but you get my drift). So when my town brought back the Historic Home Tour after two years without, I was giddy with delight. I nearly camped out waiting for tickets, but I restrained myself. No need to let the world know about my inner geek.

This year, the husband decided to go, and we felt my daughter was old enough. Not so much the almost-three-year-old who is a punk much of the time. So he went to the park with grandma instead. The three of us enjoyed the tour a lot. M was an absolute star, being so patient while we had to wait and while we listened to boring stuff about boring stuff. She took in a lot and asked questions (shyly, in my ear) and I was just so stinkin’ proud of her.

While waiting in one particularly long line, I learned that my town was a sort of planned community from the very beginning – they were hoping it would become, “a community of gentlemen farmers.” Why you’d want to farm gentlemen is beyond me. (HA.) Anyway, the town was a big citrus place (particularly lemon) back in the day, but the gentlemen farmer dream collapsed a mere three or so years later when the housing market collapsed. Much like what is happening to today’s dream of gentlemen farmer communities.

stained glass

Click on the photo above to see the rest of the set. I will drive around this week and grab photos of the fronts of the houses to add to the set – my camera battery was dying and there were swarms of people in the way. The nerve.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers