30 Tiny Moments: Day 8

9 04 2008


30 Tiny Moments: Day 8
Originally uploaded by zebrabelly.

Is it too corny to sing the Beatles, here? Because, truly, that song moves me.

Anyhow. My moment this evening is quiet, alone, time for reflection. I love Mary, and I love having her glow here to guide me to this much-needed place of peace.





House #1

9 04 2008

It seems only fitting to chronicle the houses we tour in our search for a home for a bunny. *cough* I mean a home for a Zebra and her family.

So begins the REAL house hunting. Anything before this was just… um… pretend? For a hobby? I dunno, but I better start this entry already, no?

Sunday we went with Tino, our agent, to visit a 3 bedroom house on East Palomar. It was a good size, had a large garage and a big back yard as well as a private front yard. My favorite bit was that the closet between the two kids’ bedrooms was shared. You could walk in the closet from one bedroom and go out into the next. Just like the Brady Bunch bathroom!

The bits I didn’t like so much had to do with travertine floors (sooooo not my style), the crappy-ass poo-colored tile in the bedrooms, the falling over fence and… and? The awesomest “optional” room EVER. Which I will get into in a minute because it deserves it’s own paragraph. Anyway, for the most part, it was all cosmetic stuff, but even things like finding rugs to warm up the floors adds up quickly, you know? There was also a nice crack along the slab the house sits on which the Realtor thought might be a problem – and it might be, what do I know? But, in looking around the sidewalks here in town, I see cracks pretty much everywhere. I’m wondering how much of that is just common to San Diego and kind of unavoidable. Do you, my readers, have any thoughts? Facts? Outright lies? Please specify which you are sharing.

Anywho, this room. Apparently, the term “optional room” is real estate lingo for “unpermitted”. And, OY, was this one poorly done. It was so awful, it was beautiful. What they did was enclose a square section of the patio that had been bordered by the kitchen on one wall and the garage on the second. They added the two other walls. And they did put up a roof, but that was about all they did. They even left the porch light up on the inside of the room. Awesome. But even more awesome, perhaps, is that they, apparently, spray painted this new room instead of using, you know, actual paint. Beautiful. These people? Clearly top craftsmen. You should hire them.

All in all we weren’t thrilled. But looking back, I wonder why not. All foundational cracks aside, if that’s safe, maybe we should think again about it. I can grow to love a ghetto-ass room. I can also tear said ghetto-ass room down. Probably with my bare hands judging by the amount of actual work they put into it.








Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 261 other followers